You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit/dTube EXCLUSIVE: Witness @aggroed talks SBD, reward pool drama, much more

in #steemit6 years ago

We will likely to expand 2x in terms of active user base this year.
If we continue having bandwith issues and not seeing any solutions at least in dev backlog then forget 100x.

Also bandwith is unequally distributed following unequality in steem distribution. My account has literally gigabytes of bandwith. Obviously user doesn't demand as big as my dolphin SP gives me. The solution may be very simple - a conves (sqrt-like) bandwith dependence on SP.

Sort:  

You don't want low SP to have too much bandwidth though. Because you don't want low influencers / bad actors to spam the Blockchain. However, you don't want minnows to suffer from lack of attention or ability to interact with the platform. So, yeah, there is definitely room for improvement, but the best solution is still out there. (I honestly don't know if your solution will or won't work, but I'll do some googling on it shortly!)

I'm glad you pointed out that low bandwidth affects minnows and we should have a fair shake at the attention paid to posts. I make a concerted effort everyday to engage with others on the platform and although I don't have a high amount of SP, I think that most of my content is decent material.
It's important that we engage with one another and truly make an effort to help the newcomers, in my opinion or else those who do join will eventually lose interest, which is something none of us truly want to see. I am going to start reaching out to more minnows and helping them as I can.

Did you know that I'm also a minnow? (I'm not asking for an upvote) .. A good way to engage, in addition to a kind comment like this one, is to also provide an upvote. A little extra thoughtfulness goes a long way!

Thanks for your comment! I agree 100% that minnows need to support other minnows.