Steemit Beginner Tips That Will Quantitatively Help You STEEM the Right Way! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

in #steemit β€’ 6 years ago

If you're new to Steemit, welcome! Let me make five minutes of your day today the most productive: below, I want to give you three quick tips that will quantitatively help you as a #Steemit beginner -- and even possibly a veteran -- so that you can #STEEM the right way!

What do I mean by quantitatively? You'll notice that a lot of posts on Steemit, perhaps a majority, are fluff pieces -- in music, we'd call these posts filler tracks. They fill the empty space while the artist or content creator fishes for new, substantive ideas, which don't come along all the time for the average creator.

Fluff pieces are nice, but they're not very usable or practical. Here, I'll provide Steemit beginner tips that will help you immediately! So let's get to it!

Post Something EVERY Day!

This was a BIG mistake I made and one which I didn't correct until recently. Every single day, you must post something. Some folks don't post something because they are under the impression that their STEEM voting power declines permanently.

That is not true -- your voting power "recharges" over time. The benefit to you as a beginner is that you don't really have anything to lose (unless you "bought" your way in with a significant amount of investing dollars) so post at least one thing a day, even if it's BS.

Rule of Thirds

To really ramp up your Steemit experience, apply the rule of thirds. Humans and nature gravitate towards the rule of thirds -- which is a whole different topic in and of itself -- and you should apply it as you STEEM.

Here's a great example: everyday, write something useful, something personal, and something bullsh-t.

Wait, what!?

That's right, I said bullsh-t. Your first post will almost always be bullsh-t as you figure things out. Your followers are bullsh-t. Your received comments are bullsh-t. Hell, you might even be bullsh-t!

What I do know is that if you're real, and you're not a piece of sh-t, your payout will be bullsh-t. That's why ideally, you should post two useful or entertaining pieces and the third post can be bullsh-t. Consider this bullsh-t post as your anchor to let the Steemit #blockchain know you're alive.

Don't Upvote Known or Obvious Scammers/Spammers

You might be tempted to upvote powerful scammer/spammer whales because you can milk off free curation dollars. Here's my advice:

DON'T DO IT!

Just like in hockey, we have powerful folks on Steemit who play the role of "enforcer." They not only bash the actual spammer or scammer, but they also penalize their followers and upvoters, probably for being persistently stupid to upvote the spammer or scammer to begin with.

I'm not going to name names right now because I don't want to get involved with more drama than is necessary. However, for purely illustrative purposes, let's suppose there is a Steemit spammer named "gaejin" whose technical analysis is like my a--hole: dark, dirty, and smells like sh-t.

Everyday, he milks the Steemit system by posting 800 times daily, and his followers encourage this, so the debacle continues. Now, let's say there's an enforcer named "herbieganders" that not only cuts the payout for "gaejin" but also downvotes his supporters.

You don't want to support "gaejin" because while he won't be impacted reputation-wise, you will. Oh, you will feel the wrath of "herbieganders" and believe me, you don't want that!

Sort: Β 

Thanks for advice :)

Do you suggest to keep posting only about specific topic?

If you gained all followers by posting about science (for example) and then you made post about something completely different, your followers probably wouldn't be interested in it and it could even be a reason for them to unfollow you. Or am I wrong here?

When I first started out, I was over thinking what to post. I guess I feared that some of the things I wanted to talk about wouldn't be considered worthwhile to people, but then I realised that it's simply not the case as long as you can demonstrate some form of effort going in to the post.

I am trying to spend as much time as possible commenting on other peoples' posts at the moment. It's seen interaction on my own stuff increase, and I'm now able to power up whatever amount of Steem I earn per day.

Nice article man! You have some quality tips here, very helpful because I am new to steem. I now realize how important quantity of posts are, I will definitely start trying to post as much as possible.

Hahaha and I have been on here long enough to understand the "gaejin" reference, so annoying. Like half of the posts that show up are written by him! I want to see more content from other contributors, but literally most of the feed are his posts!