You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 7 Steem Apps Stealing Your Rewards... And 3 That Aren't!

in #steemit6 years ago

Great outline. Yes, not only do I hear from people complaining about having to use their phone number to join Dtube (in my most recent upload to YouTube/Dtube "How To Upload to Dtube), they then want to compound the fact that Steemit/Dtube and or other Apps take a percentages of there earnings.

I suppose this isn't anything too surprising in this age of the internet (platforms have bills too). What's funny about it and makes me laugh, is that YouTube takes as much as 55 % to 61% of creators revenue (when they aren't flagging, demonetizing or ShadowBanning), not to mention people who join an MCN and essentially have their channel practically hijacked.

There is something Gary Vaynerchuk once said when I was researching frequency of posting content (Instagram in particular), and that was, "I'll gain more followers than I'll lose". That got me thinking. He's right. At the moment my YouTube Channel is transitioning from being nearly exclusively Gaming back to my original format, How To's, Vlogs and Reviews. I'm watching as Subs, as many as 2 a day, unsub. It's a little disheartening, but I'll gain more in the long run. So what is my point here, LOL.

The point being is even if we are having a percentage of our earnings taken, we'll still end up gaining way more than we lose.

Sort:  

I remember that video by Gary V... and he's absolutely right. I've noticed the same thing with my channel. I'll have 10 sub and 2 unsub. As long as I continue producing the best content that I can, I'm not worried about it one bit. And I like your comparison. It's still a win-win with Dtube and all of these other applications. Especially when you consider the alternative (YouTube). Thanks for your comments and feedback. I really appreciate a well thought out comment.