Why Diets Do More Harm Than Good

in #steemit6 years ago

DSC_9340.jpg

We live in a "magic-pill" society. ..

Our intellect continues to evolve  and come up with ways to make everything stronger, faster, and more  convenient. Life has suddenly become too fast and so we started to expect instant result. If you really wanted to lose a lot of weight fast, it's very possible. 

 The question is...is it healthy? 

And how much longer until you gain all  of it back? Diets only work temporarily because the second you get off the routine, you're in for a big ride (pun definitely intended).  This is because you begin to restrict your food choices and end up eating foods that you don't even like. It's only a matter of time until you get sick and tired of your diet. 

My Experience

I went in and out of diets and every time I stepped off, I gained all of the weight I had lost.  Eventually, I developed unhealthy habits and relationships with foods. I  ended up with a nasty binging disorder. My weight was like a roller  coaster ride. Given that I was in bodybuilding, this slowed my progress  since I was shifting from "bulking" and "cutting".   Not only  that, but I was constantly thinking about how I looked. I'd have a  "cheat" day, look puffy the next day, then diet for a few days anddddddd  REPEAT 

The solution?

The solution was was to give up dieting and chase something long-term instead.   I started to to focus on ingredients rather than calories. I ditched  the sugars and anything that wasn't "real". I also paid close attention  to my digestion and cancelled out anything that disturbed me. I focused on my health and stopped obsessing about how I looked. 

 The results?

 My physique looked even better and now it's always there. You don't need to go on the chicken & broccoli diet, eating healthy can be mouthwatering.