How To Buy Steem!

in #steemit6 years ago


If you've never actually bought any Steem with fiat, now is a great time to consider it with the price being down. I walk you through the basics of at least how I completed the process here in the US. I utilized Coinbase and Blocktrades to get my purchase executed. I'll tell you all the details.

With Gratitude,
Captain Bob


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow that's even more complicated than doing it from here. Until very recently (for selected accounts) we have had to change the money to Euros first before sending to Coinbase. They had no GBP wallet. I can see the GBP wallet in my account now but I'm not yet able to send money to it directly. Soon I hope.

Yeah I'll admit it took longer and was more complicated than I expected. Not only that, there really seemed to be limited information on how to do this, haha. So I thought a great chance to hopefully help others perhaps.

How to Buy Steem:

Make content for Steem.

Haha just kidding. It is certainly the time to start looking into buys.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Making content is the absolute best way to get Steem! But in all things investing....you always have to watch and buy on the way down ;)

Wow, I have luck, that my husband is in this area with cryptocurrency, other ways, I'm lost here, hehe. Not tried yet, but, i think i will give it a try. Many thanks for sincere explaining of your problems with transactions. Upvoted and followed you, because you sincerely describe your problem here, and how you have it done. You deserve it. Maya.

Glad you found it helpful. Thanks for watching and the comment :)

Wow so I had a similar story! Back in December I wanted to buy. I signed on with Coinbase and did the bank transfer first. haha and it took 7 days to get my bitcoin. When I bought it, it was near 19k, when I got the bitcoin it was only worth like 13k. so I already lost like 1/3 of the value. I was like, um what did I just do?? lol now I only use the debit card option, because it buys it instantly. Before I was also doing wiretransfers from my bank to GDAX which was a lot faster but the fees were like 40 dollars. 30 for the wire transfer and 10 for GDAX. well I learned a lot early on, of what not to do. haha

Haha yeah it's interesting the things you learn when you do it, and really the information was hard to find out there of anyone else telling their experiences, so I thought it was a decent opportunity to try to help or explain it to someone else. Luckily the price didn't move much while I was waiting for the purchase to happen.

Yeah that is great. These videos are awesome. Yes you are very lucky it didn't move much, although if it went way up you would have been like score! haha

I’ve thought about buying some Steem. Maybe if it gets even lower (hopefully it won’t, but we’ll see.) the only thing that holds me back is taxes. I already don’t have a clue what’s going on when it comes to tax season! Wouldn’t it be nice if all there was was a sales tax? Easy peasy!

I would be all for a national sales tax and do away with the income tax, but alas we are stuck in the US for now it seems. Best I've heard is to just track your transactions. That being said, it seems most accounts have no idea what to do with Crypto.

Thanks capt. I've been thinking about buying steem...but i'll wait for 10 cents haha...

Haha. I agree! I'm ready to buy at 10 cents as well, but for now I'll settle for the 80 cents I got haha.

excelente tema amigo, un saludos desde Venezuela, excelent work. congratulationes.

I don't like to wait, especially for 7 days, it's a lot. They can fill your account with an old price instead of putting there bitcoin with the new price if it's high. Coinbase wait all that time to gain some profit from that transaction, that's why I use only exchangers and I can buy steem in the same day. Here is the website I use for years to do all my exchanges : https://www.bestchange.com/ . You just choose the best exchanger, read reviews about it and use the proper one, but it's just something I want to share, it's not an investment advice. I hope it will be useful for you and others who read this. ☺

I went to the website and tried to fill in the box just to see how this works, so i put in perfect money USD in the give box, however, in the get gox, i could not find steem. How were you able to buy steem? Do you have to have wallet of anykind besides steem wallet?

That website is to buy bitcoin. For steem use https://blocktrades.us/ as @captainbob said.

Yeah, but blocktrades seem to only accept anything, but cash. Not in a rush, though.

Hopefully one day we can do it without the need for a third party app. Directly from Steemit to Bank. That will make life easier :)

Why u no say "let's talk about it?" 🤧🤧🤧.

Nice tutorial :). Don't be investing too much now.

That's very useful @captainbob, I didn't know about the buy option on the wallet. I mean, I have seen that, but never actually knew what it was used for.

Now... I think the bitcoin part is the 'bottle neck'; it takes time, it's bureucratic, we lose on fees.
There should be a way for alts to get free from this link to bitcoin, it's not beneficial at all.

Great video, Bob. Thank you!