Simple Steps on Powering Up with your SBD

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

powerup

For the last 2 weeks, I have been doing my best to understand what SBD, Steem, SP etc all about. Even though i have to admit I am still blur and haven't get a full picture until now, at the very least I am learning step by step with all these techie terms (at least they sounds techie to me).

Then, somewhere along the upvoting , I see my upvote is worth 0.00 even though I would like to reward the quality post / comment to fellow steemians. I was like wah, did I do something wrong? Did i upvote too much? or entirely something else. So I went to read up why my voting value so low and found it's somehow related to Steem Power and the need to Power Up.

Why Power Up ?

As what I have gather when you power up , this is what happen:

  1. Your upvote will worth much more as your Steem Power increase
  2. Can reward fellow steemians for their quality post/comments with higher value

I read that you can also create contest or similar and do delegating voting power (ok, i haven't learn what delegating means yet.)

Here's two article which I found useful and I thought to just share out as well although we can no longer upvote these articles.

@kevinwong : https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/here-s-why-you-should-power-up-as-soon-as-possible

@etcmike : https://steemit.com/steemit/@etcmike/everlasting-steem-power-why-you-should-power-up

After all these understanding so far, I went to look at my account and ask myself, do I have enough to power up? If yes, how do I do it? I went googling again and some of the post I read got me even more confused where I need to convert something to something to something before I can power up. So i decided to turn to @zord189 for advice. Lo and behold, he explained and gave me the easiest steps to do so ever!!! Here's what he taught me, and I will walk through it with some screen shots for anyone interested.

To increase your SP, you need to power up your STEEM. How?

  1. Head over to your Wallet

    SP003

  2. Under Steem Dollar (SBD), click on "Market"

    SP001

  3. You will be brought to a screen that look like below. Locate under BUY STEEM. Input how many SBD you want to Sell under TOTAL.
    SP002

  4. Once you have input the total, click BUY STEEM

  5. Close the 'Market' screen and go back to your account. You should already seeing the STEEM in your account.

  6. Now, under STEEM, click the down arrow and choose 'Power Up'. You may see I currently have 0.000 STEEM as I had just finished the transfer process and didn't screen shot it.

    SP006

  7. Now enter the STEEM Amount you wanted to convert. and Click "Power Up".

    SP007

TAA - DAAAA .. my previous 1.07 something shoot up to 19.234 .

SP008

Although my voting value I last check on www.steemnow.com / www.steemworld.org is still low, learning how to Power Up with such simple steps by @zord189 was a BIG YAY and learning for me. Thank you !!

On a side note, I read that if you want to buy STEEM, it is best to make sure the STEEM DOLLAR is high and STEEM is in low price. I am not really good in reading the market yet, so I am not the best person to go to ask for now.

Hope you guys can learn something out of this , cos I surely did.

Till then,

Stay Awesome and Be the Best Version of Yourself.

=============================================

Bits and Pieces of Life
Feel free to support and follow me on my adventure, misadventure n about life ;)
Thanks for stopping by once again.

@carmenraec

Sort:  

Thanks for the tutorials.. As more people come in, these advices need to be consistently published to get a chance at getting their attention and helping them.

Also, my personal advise is to get to 500 steem power as quick as you can.

Because you'll like the feature you get when you have 500 Steem power. Im sure...

@awesomianist great tip 500 steem power .. really got special feature? Need to power up lah ..

@carmenraec great post ... spot on .. good for beginners like me .. cheerss

same same..we all learn together bah

Hehe... Yes! Enjoying the feature now! Muahahaha!

'sai meng' is it ? hahaa.. wait for meeeeeeee

Oops... Sorry...
You will reach 500SP very very fast!

eh eh.. dont say sorry.. i was just joking. :P
I do hope so ! I will ganbate.. and as for u, Dolphin on the way!

Swimming swimming and keep on swimming

😜

Thanks @awesomianist ! I will do my best ! And what!??!? got special features? 500 steem power.. macam very far fetch hahha.. but bulih bah ! thanks for the encouragement ;)

Here's an Upvote both for the biceps and the tutorials! Totally Steem! ;D

😍😍 Thank u @karinzdailygrind !! didnt know my bicep also can get vote. WOOOT!!!!

@ carmenraec, excellent tutorial.

You did a great job of explaining and showing this process. Now that you have taught other people to do this, you have an even greater understanding of the process.

I love that teaching others is one of the best ways to learn!

Thanks @sumatranate ! Yes, i agree !

Power lar! Can teach class already? Looking for ladies to take over the Ladies edition of Steemit Bootcamp.

@carmenraec certainly fit the criteria

Wuhahaha... i am still learning my ropes . Simple stuff boleh bah hehe ;) let me know how i can help

Jom la... join me @carmenraec

wah.. join hand with u power lady, sure can ady.. cos if anything happen I just turn to u and say.. @deborism what do u think? hahaha.. ok, let's do it !

Hahaha you’re so funny ! :) @carmenraec but yes 💪🏽

I agree! I also use every SBD for powering up my account.

I use Market as well as Bittrex for changing from SBD to Steem. Sometimes you will find internal market price on a higher side.

ah.. i read something about that and i got confused. And since I am not changing that much, i guess it wont make too much difference ;)

Hello Carmraec!

Did it take long to get the SP on your account? I tried last time and it took three days. ^^

Thanks for sharing this, this can be very helpful to our fellow steemit frets!

Hey @dawnsheree , it was instant for me.

Very good tutorial 👍🏻

I'm a newbie on Steemit, I really found your post informative! Thanks!

Thanks @kimmiecfields glad it be of help ! let's all learn and steem together !

when wan do photoshoot? i waited 1 year liao

wuhahaha.. got 1 year meh? i thought 2 years aldy 😅 Sorry @jikey ! let's see if we can make it before CNY , that's before I start munching on CNY cookies ! haha

come... lets set a date

@jikey let's PM heehe

Thanks for this! This is so informative! Easy guide to understand and follow through :)

Ps. Is that you in the first photo, so fit!

Thanks @maxyong . Glad it's simple enough. Yeah, me with my bicep LOL

Very informative and easy to read and understand. Thanks for posting this. 😊

wow! thanks for sharing. good information. have always used @blocktrades. will try using your method next time :)

Thanks @calebleejl . I saw the post where have to use many conversion..this one very simple .

just wondering if you compared the rates? let us know if it's a good one :)

Wow! Awesome power up! Love your photo!💪💪💪

Thank u @elizacheng once again.. glad u love my muscle LOL

Nice great tutorial! I didn't know you could buy steam from the website I was going a totally roundabout way hahaha

Yeah @lalilands . I was reading the long way which I got confused about until I learn about this one.. so thankful to @zord189

Nice explanation with the screenshots. I'm going to bookmark this.