Bitcoin, fitcoin, fuckcoin , cryptowhatever... blah blah blah....

in #steemit7 years ago

Not here to earn money, this shit is just fun! Posting rando shit to rando people is SUPER liberating.... I don't understand the whole "cryptocurrency" thing.... if anyone wants to take the time to explain this fascination to me , I'd appreciate it

Sort:  

welcome and enjoy!

Eat shit. You didn't read my post.

I think we are gonna be friends. Ok well, # 1. With you on the liberation... or at least I hope to be soon on my account. Just started today so I am not in a rush just yet. As far as the crypto there is a guy named mindhunter on here that does half way decent videos about everything crypto. I find he is easy to listen to. I have only been on Bittrex a few times and sold some SD for bitcoin. Think of your steem as a digital token. The token can be traded for bitcoin or other ditigal tokens on the crypto market by getting this thing called a "wallet" somewhere (we have one on our steemit account for example and you can trade between wallets) Your steem can be traded for a coin and then that coin can be traded for fait currency if you so wish. If you want more voting power on steemit I would suggest getting the little slider bar that not a lot of people know needs 500 Steempower for. It is one goal to work towards anyways if you are into that kind of thing. Also if you put your SD into steem power it can take 3 months to get the SD back out again. Hope that was helpful.

Thanks for that @aaatriplethreat ! I'm not very "tech savvy", so when I hear certain tech-like words I feel my eyes start to glaze over, but the way put that makes a bit of sense

Cyrpto currency is a digital money. Its digital cash that you cam spend. Depending on which crypto, Its rises and falls in value. For example, Bitcoin value rises and falls. The value is connected to the amount of people who demand it. The higher the demand, the higher the value. There's other coins who's value goes up continuously because it is build on a different system than other crypto currencies. The higher the value of any crypto currency, the higher you profit from your investment. I hope that helped.

Thanks @starz ! That was helpful. I feel like I'm piece things together so thank you another piece of the puzzle!

Oh yeah sure, no problem. Whatever bit of info I have I'll share it with you. Welcome to the Steemit community. Glad to have you aboard :)