Things to Know Before Posting on D.tube

in #steemit6 years ago

dtube.jpg

My First Post on d.tube

I posted for the firs time on d.tube a day ago! That being said I wanted to share a few things I either didn't realize until after I posted or things I had to look up separately on different resources. These are small tid bits I wish I knew before posting so I hope you find them helpful!

Video

  1. Max resolution is 480p
    This means that even if you upload a 1080p video it will still tune it down to 480p and that's not changeable at this point as far as I can tell.
  2. The max file size is 1 Gb
    If you have a file larger than that size it will begin the upload but then report an issue and canel the upload. For me the whole page crashes and it gives me this

d.tube crashed.PNG

Thumbnail (snapshot)

  1. Thumbnail size is 1280x720
  2. Max thumbnail or snapshot as d.tube calls it size is 600 Kb

Tags

Tags are the exact same as on Steemit with the predefined tags.
For example my tags on this post are: steemit, dtube, video, steem, and blog. If I had a video to go along with that on d.tube I would keep those same tags & d.tube would even make my Steemit post for me.

When you Upload

This might be common sense to those of you who are familiar with d.tube; however, it wasn't to me. When you upload something on d.tube it will always create a post on Steemit also. This took me by surprise even if it's something that's relatively obvious to some of you folks out there. I decided to add it because it's better to be safe than sorry. That being said you want to post on d.tube because it will also post it on Steemit. This will prevent a double post.

Hopefully these tips helped you out!

Sort:  

You can upload video with better resolution but you have to do it on your own and feed dTube with video Hash using advanced mode

yes that is true or you could upload the video onto youtube then link it in your steemit blog and it display high definition quality up to 4k. That way it feeds more social media if need be.

That's what I've done in the past is link a youtube video that's already 4k. I like doing it that way a lot

Ah! I was not aware of that at all actually. That's very interesting, I will have to try that out. Does the 1 Gb cap still remain or no? It's hard to do a 1080p video under 1 Gb unless it's only a few minutes long

One thing that I realised also is that you better want that video to exist forever on the blockchain. I uploaded a wrong version of a video and that shit is there forever! In the end it wasn't too terrible but it was the wrong version nevertheless.

Also, it's a beta still so... it doesn't always work perfectly!

Yeah, it's crazy that you can't delete a video from d.tube or post from Steemit. It makes me think twice every time I post now because I can't get rid of the content if I made a mistake

Yeah, I'm forgiving for things that are in beta :)

Congratulations @christianhelms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!