Why Your Community Needs to Join Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Why are Philanthropic organizations run by or for wealthy individuals and organizations?

Philanthropic organizations run by or for wealthy individuals and organizations because, to create an acceptable degree of impact, lots of resources are required. The resources are mostly financial but also come in other forms.

However, no matter the amount of non-financial resources one has at his disposal, without financial resources, it’s safe to that say nothing worthwhile can be achieved. Let’s take Bill Gate’s accomplishments in eradicating Polio or Malaria from third world countries or Africa’s own Tony Elumelu’s entrepreneurship grant of $1000 to 1000 youths. All of these are possible because these individuals have considerable financial might and can afford to run these social projects without having to run from pillar to post seeking funds.

This is why it’s been difficult to have lots of Community Social Intervention/Relief Projects in our different communities. This explains why we all sit back and wait for Government projects. This also explains restiveness in the Niger Delta creeks and other forms of poverty triggered violence elsewhere in the country and continent.

With the advent of Blockchain, Distributed responsibility and Steemit, this is soon becoming a thing of the past. If we are all co-custodians of our community and my voice has financial power, then just by speaking for a project, I give it the finance support it needs to thrive.

The question now is, what stops me from coming up with a porous project idea and supporting it myself? This way, I make money for myself. Well, my voice on its own useless to me because we are all co-custodians, my voice only becomes valuable when others join their voices with mine. This means that, my project must be valuable to the community for them to back it. Again, if after raising the necessary financial needs to jumpstart the project, I don’t execute out of selfishness, my image is tarnished and I will be unable to create or attract support for another project. On the other hand, the more successful projects I execute, the easier it becomes to get support on new projects. The more valuable my image in the community. This ensures that only high-quality persons and projects are backed and supported.

If your community is absent, these benefits automatically disappear and you will continue to be dependent on the goodwill of Wealthy members of your community and the Government. History has shown that this goodwill is very difficult to get

This is what Steemit represents and why the community efforts of Nigeria's @tojukaka, @ejemai and @samstickz and the efforts of other community builders are important and should be supported.

So, I’m going to ask you. In 2018, what will you do to encourage your Community’s participation in Steemit? Let us know in the comments below.

Sort:  

planing to do my own personal promo for steemit.

do stop by my blog to upvote and follow me too thankz

That's great. Hope to see you succeed in bringing more people to Steemit. Cheers!