You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is all about the Money!

in #steemit6 years ago

Great reply. My sentiments exactly. We forget that this is all one big experiment. At the moment, I think Steemit is going to reflect human tendencies we also elsewhere in the market. Have you ever been to a market in the third wold? It's busy. People are talking, bargaining, even yelling. In short, it's a noisy, dynamic environment. I like to think of Steemit as a marketplace of ideas and content. How your content performs on the market (i.e. financially) is not only dependent on the artist, but the marketing, business and technological acumen of the artist. I think we see the same tendencies with Instagram, which is 95% filled with selfies and bad photos of food. Eventually Steemit, or something that succeeds it, will hopefully have a better list of features or rewards that promote more genuine use. Otherwise, I worry about the same things you do...

Sort:  

Very thoughtful response. I love your analogy of Steemit like being like a busy marketplace. Makes the negative aspects seem much less obtrusive or annoying, and puts emphasis on the eventual value underneath the entire thing. Good thoughts! I wish somehow more people could read these comments. I think the conversation is a valuable and insightful one.