You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.

in #steemit6 years ago

I have been a steemit member for a week now.

I try and produce quality content and likewise I attempt to up-vote what I deem as quality content. It seems though that a large majority of Steemit users are only here for the back scratch.

They don't even seem care about the content or even read the articles that they are up-voting. The only feed back I seem to be getting from a majority of users is "I up-vote you, you up-vote me". No constructive criticism or links to pertinent information that would add value to what I have authored or created for that matter.

Please, someone point me to the real substance of Steemit. Because for the most part all I have seen in my short time here is nothing but users wanting their votes reciprocated for doing nothing, but what a curator is supposed to do.

Am I wrong here or is Steemit supposed to be more than this?

Sort:  

That's what was destined to happen. A majority of users are just here for the money. They just want to make that money ASAP! And so, they do it the only way they know - upvotes, "vote me back" & stupid comments.

But if you look back, wasn't the same stuff happening when Twitter and Instagram first came around?

I mean I remember "Follow for Follow" being a thing.

I guess the same thing is happening here too. The platform just needs some time and smarter users to come in and prefer content over steem.

This is gonna sound kind of sad, but I don't have an instagram account and I just joined twitter this last summer. That was only to keep track of sports though.

I get what you are saying and I have a feeling this will just be the way it is. It may be better to not dwell on it and just appreciate the users that add the value I am looking for.

I have noticed the same thing. I want to go up in the ranks on steemit but would rather have it done for having good content than just the back scratching.

Yes, It just seems like a lot of bots doing automatic up-votes and resteems. Or users just asking for handouts. Don't get me wrong I appreciate the up-votes but, I would rather have an intelligent discussion about a post or some value added rather than the quid pro quo.

Exactly. I am just starting out myself so maybe it gets better the more and longer you are making content and find the right people to talk with.

Hello, nice post, do you know there is a steemschool on a discord channel waiting to help users become successful on steemit and in real life, its been working for me so far, and with the knowledge i see you have through this post im sure they will love to help you get better. Hope to see you there

https://discord.gg/KY6k7VG

You can also enter a contest to win 3sbd with your selfie contest here

https://steemit.com/steemitschool/@mistakili/4-more-winners-to-go-a-total-of-8-sbds-waiting-to-be-won-or-did-you-win-yesterday-you-can-win-today

Thanks for the suggestion. I am going to check it out. Best wishes!

Congratulations @crispier-bacon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!