Good times with customer services

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I just got a Macbook from Apple. And I decided to go check for my anniversary date for kicks (I'm usually pretty through about checking for things like that. I used to be a QA tester for Activision (a 3rd-party gaming company). So I feel being detailed-
oriented is encoded in my DNA. As it turns out I didn't have my Applecare+ put onto my computer.

I contacted customer service via Apple Chat Support, and I got to speak to a guy named Joss.

knowledge_graph_logo.png

Joss
Hi Bryan!

Joss
How’s your Tuesday going so far?

Bryan
It's been great

Joss
I’m really glad to hear that!

Bryan
I just need to figure out this Applecare issue :)

Joss
How can I help keep the good times rolling?

Joss
Oh?

Joss
What’s going on with your apple care?

Bryan
Yeah I brought applecare with this macbook air and it didn't seem to apply

Joss
What the what?!

Joss
That’s really strange.

Joss
Where did you purchase the agreement? Was it in store, online, or over chat/phone support?

Bryan
I read somewhere that it was suppose to apply if you bought it with the mac right?

Bryan
It was threw the apple.com store

Bryan
Through*

Joss
Yeah! Should stick right on there!

Joss
Do you have the proof of purchase?

Joss
Either a physical print out or an email?

Bryan
sends receipt

Joss
You’re the coolest. Thanks Bryan!

Joss
Let me do a little digging here and we’ll get this sorted out.

Joss
Is there a registration number on the AppleCare agreement?

Bryan
I never got the apple care in my box

Bryan
Just the Macbook Air

Bryan
I thought that was odd as well

Joss
Hmmm.

Joss
OK. thanks. I’ll see what I can find. Bear with me for a sec.

Bryan
I'm glad I looked at my anniversary date, just for kicks. And to my surprise it wasn't added on. Not really happy about that.

Joss
The good news is that we can clearly see on the receipt that it was purchased.

Joss
So you’ve got proof there for sure.

Bryan
Yup

Joss
Ok

Joss
It looks like we’ll need to get you on the phone to speak with an agreement admin.

Joss
They’ll just need to verify your identity and look up the registration to apply it.

Bryan
Ok

Joss
Are you available for a callback?

Bryan
Yup

Bryan
(my number censored)

Bryan
Just had one more question before that happens

Joss
Sure thing. Fire away!

Bryan
I heard LONG AGO that when getting an new electronic device you are suppose to drain the battery then charge to full then drain it again, to help with battery life. Is that still a thing?

Bryan
For any apple product for that matter

Joss
Nah. That’s a tech myth.

Joss
Now your battery has a certain amount of cycles.

Bryan
Yeah was about to say about the cycles

Joss
Each cycle is the equivalent of 100% of the battery being used one time. So even if you use it 50% of the way and then charge it again, that only counts as half a cycle.

Joss
You’d have to use it another %50 and charge it to count as 1 whole cycle. Does that makes sense?

Bryan
Yup

Bryan
Thanks joss (not Whedon)!

Bryan
Or are you?! :)

Joss
HA!

Joss
That’s funny you say that...

Joss
My Instagram handle was @NotJossWhedon for a while.

Bryan
:p

Joss
But I appreciate you not saying “oh, like Joss Stone?”

Joss
LOL

Bryan
Boooooo for apple chat not having emoji's. Then again I guess you don't want those not tech people to be trolling you

Joss
I actually hear that it might be coming.

Bryan
Lol NOOOOOOO!!! I guess it would help sometimes like this situation

Joss
Because we’re sort of encouraged to chat with our customers like they were our buddy. And since emojis are such a huge part of electronic communication, it makes sense to have it!

  • The next 3 lines were exclaimed at the same time.

Joss
ANYWAY....

Joss
I need your phone number and time zone. LOL

Bryan
Anyways when should I expect the admin call?

Bryan
LOL

Bryan
Jinx...?

Bryan
(censored) PST time zone

Bryan
Or PDT now details

Joss
OK! I’ve go you set up for a 2:45 callback. Does that work?

Bryan
Nice

Bryan
So in 10 mins

Bryan
Well 13 mins details pffffff :)

Joss
Yep! 12 now!

Bryan
SHUT IT JOSS! lol

Bryan
Thanks a bunch

Joss
You’re welcome!

Joss
Thanks so much for chatting with me today Bryan! I hope you have a great rest of your Tuesday.

Joss
Later Gator!

Bryan
waves

  • 15 min later

ring

Hi Apple support blah blah blah

Bryan
Yeah I’m having a issue with applecare.

  • Another few minutes going back and forth

Support
I’ll transfer you to the Applecare department

Bryan
Thank you!

Hi Applecare support blah blah blah
Bryan
Yeah I’m having a issue with applecare not being on my computer.

Support
Yeah I see that you have your receipt. Did you have an application registration number?

Bryan
Nope, I didn’t get that.

  • Many back and forths and holds later.

Support
Hi so just to let you know where we are at. I’m on hold with my supervisor.

Bryan
I laughed out loud. Wow this is like Inception.

Support
Wait what?

Bryan
You know the movie Inception “A dream within a dream”? It’s like that here. I’m on hold with you “customer service” and you are on hold with your supervisor. I’ve never had that before.

Support
She laughed out loud for a while

Bryan
Could you get please just call me back if you need me? I trust you’ll get it all sorted out.

Support
Yes we can do that if we need to call you back or update you we will.

  • 10 mins later

rings from another number

Support
Bryan my name is also Bryan

Bryan
cheers out loud

Support
Yeah and spelled the right way with a Y just like yours

Support
Ok, so I’ll have to put in a ticket with the engineers over here, but be assured you will get your applecare+ in the next couple of days.

All-in-all great customer service and I wanted to share the fun and funnies with y’all. Also to be informative since I didn’t know about battery myth and possible upcoming emojis when talking to customer service.

Sort:  

Great narrative! Apple knows about customer service and that's why they continue to dominate the market. Best customer service companies in my opinion are Disney, Publix, and Apple!!