You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [solved] AM I A VICTIM OF VOTE STEALING? - perhaps your account has been also abused and you don't even know it ...

in #steemit5 years ago

Dear @devann

I would like to thank you again for pointing out at this issue.

The truth is that according to priscreen provided by @achim03 - we all agree for Steemvoter to upvote it's content. I cannot find any mention about my approval for 3rd parties to use my upvotes to reward their content (as dlease is a 3rd party app; it is not steemvoter and I can hardly see any judge or lawer disagreeing with it).

Reality is that my trust towards this tool is already broken :( That shouldn't be this way. And this is not a "professional" opinion. It's an opinion coming from noone but "regular joe".

Yours
Piotr

Sort:  

Dear crypto.piotr,

DLease is not a 3rd party, both DLease and Steemvoter are services by BuildTeam. That is a little bit like Gmail and GDrive, both are owned by Google and thus linked with each other.

If BuildTeam was using your vote to upvote, for example, Utopian or SteemSTEM, then you'd be correct. But the current usage is stated in Steemvoter's ToS.

This is because you are not here enough to learn all the rules and quirks of this place, @crypto.piotr. Signing up for things is only Step One. The whole steem ecosystem is very complex and you need to monitor everything you do here.

If you are only coming in a few times a month, you will not have enough time to figure things out fully. I totally object to the term "vote stealing" in this case, since you gave your permission without knowing what you were doing.

I use @steemdunk for autovoting. I have been very happy with them for 1.5 years. Maybe you can give them a look, but read their terms and conditions if you do.

I also use Steem Dunk! (steemdunk.xyz)

Dear @crypto.piotr

I had experimented with steemvoter about a month ago and signed up for it authorizing it to upvote certain authors. That was about a month ago and it doesn't explain the earlier unauthorized votes selling from my account.

The point I am making is that I did forget that I signed up for steemvoter and authorized it to upvote certain specified authors, until I read @achim's comment. You need to rule out such a possibility for yourself too. You need to be absolutely sure about it as otherwise you might be putting innocent people in the crosshairs.

Dear @Crypto.Piotr,

I don't want to impose or be divisive in any way but, since I've seen a friend who used to use Steemvoter having a similar problem, with another account (can't remember which was it), decided back then to not use it and just keep it stored in favourites 'just in case'.

A great friend introduced me (will keep her identity concealed) to @SteemAuto, that has the autovote feature and a lot of other very useful and configurable tools, it's free and although I share a little bit of my reward income that is completely optional. Plus, never had a problem with it, the only times there were problems they were my fault.

I would even share a lot more to give support for the quality of all the services/tools but will leave that for the time when I become a whale!! x)

Having said that I will only add that, maybe it's time for You to change services/tools to 'better' ones..

All the best,
Cy

BIG THX for always being so responsive @cyberspacegod

Appreciate.
Yours, Piotr