Trouble Creating Steemit Account - SMS Lost On AT&T

in #steemit7 years ago

woman-1447074_640.jpg

Maybe It's Your Cell Phone Provider's Fault

Hooray!

Today I finally got my Steemit account setup and approved.

I had trouble creating a Steemit account for the past week as I was always getting stuck on the phone verification SMS step.

It's all my fault, I'm sure, as the carrier I have selected for my cell phone is a little known company that doesn't have any money to speak of and is just barely getting by...

In fact, you probably haven't even heard of them: AT&T

What is doubly frustrating is that I get not just one copy of SMS messages from friends and family but sometimes 4, 5, even 12 copies of the same message strung out over several hours time.

Yet, with Steemit account verification, I never got even ONE!

Normal Procedure To Create A Steemit Account

The procedure is pretty simple:

  • Choose a user name, not used by anyone else
  • Enter your email address, preferably one you use all the time
  • Select your country/dialing code (+1 USA) for me
  • Enter your cell (mobile) number
  • Wait for the SMS message with verification code
  • Enter the code from Steemit
  • Check your email and click the confirmation link

It's really pretty simple...

Unless you never get the SMS message. There is a link you can click to re-send the message below the box where you input the code and I even tried that - no joy, though.

The Solution

Finally, I tried using a burner phone from Walmart with God-knows-who as the provider...

Guess what?

The SMS message came through IMMEDIATELY and I was able to complete the account setup and just wait for approval.

Approval came within about 2 hours time which I thought was excellent for a Saturday.

So if you are having trouble creating your Steemit account because you are not getting the confirmation code in the SMS text message... try another cell phone that does not use that tiny little phone provider that's so poor it just cannot do a good job.

Sort:  

I also Have the Same issue Can you Help me I was using a black and white phone but i tryed to inser sim in google nesus 4 but still did not got the opt

thx .. plz follow me :)

Congratulations @cryptoroger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!