You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What most people are experiencing on steemit recently

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I hear you!!!!! I have upvoted and resteemed this and am following you now. I hear youSO loud and clear. I appreciate @jerrybanfield VERY much but imo nobody should be able to make $20-30 thousand a month here, while the rest of us are getting .06 cents. Jerry Banfield could post a video brushing his teeth and get $200 for it. Something be wayyy out of whack. Here is a copy of my rant from yesterday on @timcliff post about restructuring Steemit so it can go more mainstream. Here is my rant....

I would say if Steemit is to go "mainstreem" like Facebook,Instagram etc, there needs to be some work done on leveling the playing field... a LOT. As a new user with a 3 month old account I have put up various post on different subjects, and spent considerable time attempting to create posts with creative interesting content, only to see them be consistently ignored by the community. Still I have been able to acheive some "mild" successes thanks to a few friendly "whales" that have perhaps taken mercy on me and hit my posts. I feel if I am struggling to keep above water here, how can I convince my 800 Facebook friends to join? Just to be ignored? The changes I would suggest to start would be capping certain accounts - I am not sure where, but what Steemit is now is an environment where 95% of the users are flopping while 5 percent are totally killing it. There are a few Kobe Bryants (not naming any names) on here making $20-30 thousand bucks a month. OK they provide great content, sure and they have brought their existing clientele over from their other very successful ventures on YouTube or wherever - so now they are making bank on YouTube and doubling it here at Steemit. Users have learned to survive you should only "upvote" these Kobe Bryants (earlier the better), and not touch anyone else, lest you should lose money with your upvote. So people are sitting on the New posts section waiting for posts from these Whale, Kobe Byrant whatever users and trying to use Max SteemPower and jump on a post early - so it is almost like daytrading. Anyway, after seeing this for a few months I have vowed to not PowerDown as I am tempted to do when my posts I spent 2 hours on sit for 3 days at .16 cents, but figure out what everyone else who is succeeding here is doing and adapt to that model. But this type of lopsided model will never bring in mainstream users, people come over , try a few things, get disapointed and go back to facebook or wherever. So I would suggest Steemit somehow restructure itself to be somehow more fair and easier for new users if it expects or hopes to become a mainstream Social Media platform. For now it is a slightly addictive puzzle for myself and the other 95% of users like me, to figure how to gain more value than you are giving away, and at the same time have fun and provide great content. IDK my apologies if I am rambling, but I have tried getting some of my "non-crypto" friends (pretty much everybody I know) to come over. A few have tried but have already bailed. I have vowed to stay the course and be patient, lower my expectations and give it 6 months to a year. Rome wasn't built in a day.. but if you want mainstream to come over, there need to be some major changes to the distribution of wealth, or changes to the definition of "success" - nobody likes being ignored. Sorry that was so long but that is how I see the current environment here and ain't no way this thing is going mainstream as it is. Believe me I REALLY want to see Steemit succeed, I love it here, but nobody should be able to make $20 thousand or $30 thousand a month here while everyone else is raking in the .06 cents. Peace and always remember my Steemit friends....

and here is @timcliff original post
https://steemit.com/condenser/@timcliff/calling-community-developers-let-s-polish-the-steemit-com-mothership#@cryptoted/re-timcliff-re-cryptoted-re-timcliff-re-cryptoted-re-timcliff-calling-community-developers-let-s-polish-the-steemit-com-mothership-20170810t054924354z

Sort:  

I believe that @jerrybanfield had to work long and hard with unbelievable effort, plus working at a much higher level to achieve what he has achieved. And I think he is doing it full time. So I reckon his days are long. I aspire to that, but it will take more than will to do so. I have much to learn, experience, fail, persevere, etc. Not to mention the risk he is willing to take by investing in steem.

Thank you for such an in depth reply too. May I ask for a favour of a resteem while this is still here? Much appreciated.