Steemit Basics - How To Profit From Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


From posting on Steemit over the past few months, I've noticed something that I think would be valuable to newer users.

What Happens
At the time of you posting anything, (usually) 90% of the value of the post is determined within the first 5 hours. This can vary for a variety depending on how many followers you have, if your post gets resteemed, and if your post goes viral.

Why It Happens
The reason for this is quite simple. Many people are followers of many many users. If they look at their home tab, the more people they follow, the more likely they are to miss your post. The same thing can be said when searching through Hot/Trending/Promoted. Unless you are a whale, your post typically doesn't stay in the search feed for more than a few hours as people continue to post more things.

How to Capitalize
Just like Youtube, Facebook, or any other social media platform, there are ways to capitalize on this.
1)Your first image in any post is your thumbnail for the post. Make it something that sticks out that will make people want to click on it. Paint.net is a free software you can download that will allow you to easily edit photos.
2)Make descriptive titles, but be careful of click bait. One thing I hate is when someone says "the world is coming to the end" and is a post about toilette paper. When I see things like that, I automatically unfollow and believe others do as well
3)Post on a schedule. I noticed that if you keep to a schedule, followers will know when your posts come out and are more likely to look at them. Consistency is the Key!
4)Post quality content. There are exceptions to this, but there is an old saying "If you build it, they will come". The same thing applies for Steemit. If you consistently post things that are well thought out, you will eventually get an audience... More so if people resteem your material. (Also, I'd recommend you learn basic HTML as the users who can format their material often get more views)
5)Use appropriate tags. If you go to trending, you can see the most popular tags people are using... I'd recommend you use some of those as your post will be more likely to be seen.
6)Establish a relationship with your audience. The more you communicate with your followers/audience, the more they will differentiate you from "Just another Channel" to "My Favorite Channel"

Is there anything I missed? Let me know below.

If you like this post feel free to "Resteem" this post and follow me at "https://steemit.com/@cryptowallet"

Sort:  

muy buen material para aprender! saludos

Thanks for the great tip. I need something to boost my posts. Anymore they just accumulate a few pennies instead of a few dollars. Re-Steeming this one.

Nice post!
Upvoted and re-steemed!

Awesome advice! resteemit!

Thank you! Very helpful.

Good in site. up-voted and re-steemed

Resteemed

Thanks for the tips cryptowallet. Resteemed.

great tips, thanks! there is definitely a falloff in views after a few hours. How does a video go trending? is it based on upvotes or followers?

From what I've seen, posts that have the most money associated with it goes to trending, and post with a lot of likes/followers goes to Hot

Resteemed!

I'm studying this myself ;)

The key for me is being the first to comment...
Go Steemerites...
@pocketechange

Be the first to comment? How's that?

Now, go click on your Comments Box to see how much you're making on all your comments...
@pocketechange

GO STEEMERITES...

Useful tips even though I find it hard to be consistent with the times I post due to other things I have to take care of. But maybe someday we might do this part- or even full time ;) Let's see what the future brings!
Until then let's keep grinding!

Great post and advice. I would have never thought of #3, posting on a schedule.

Thanks for the information :)My post didnt recognise sometimes maybe your right you have to wait for time when people are online before you post

What's basic HTML... ?

or this ^ above which i didn't see until i had finished typing my reply :D
awesome link too. watching now as a refresher.

HTML stands for Hyper Text Mark up language, its the standard language used in creation of web pages to define text formatting.

a couple of link for you to show you what HTML is and how its used
on first typing in html on google you will get

  1. https://www.w3schools.com/html/

and looking for basics or barebones will get you:

  1. http://werbach.com/barebones/barebones.html

hope this helps

Thank you very much, I just viewed a video @crytowallet sent me. looks complicated to me. Will check out the links you sent.. Never to old to learn I hope....

you are welcome. i know it does seem complicated at first.
i just found one that may be of direct use. I Think you will be fine.

https://steemit.com/coding/@joshglen/5fu4wv-the-first-ever-steemit-html-coding-tutorial
and
https://steemit.com/basic/@magnebit/some-basic-html-formatting-in-steem

ok if you say so.. Thank you much.

Thanks these are excellent tips and I can see what mistakes I've made.

Thanks for the tips. I will put them to good use once I get my upvote power replenished. The waiting is hard.

Yea and don't forget to do the 100% steem power post which is a great investment for everyone. Your tips are on point!

Very helpful

Great post. I find it very interesting and helpful

Wow thanks!! Being 100% new all the tips help.. Up vote..

thanks dear you have cleared in a good way,,, i will follow these steps

Nice and clear tips! Thx

Great content @cryptowallet thank you for taking the time to post! @jbcoin

good informative post, thanks for sharing!!

Thanks! Great article for brand new steemians like me. I think you missed about the upvotes and how the money goes for the person that vote and the author.

Great piece of advice! Resteemed!

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and resteemed!

Hey i have a question. What happens if people upvote or resteem your post after the payout is done? Does a new cycle of payout starts or it does not add any value?

these are some good tips for newcomers. I hope more fish-ies see this post. Also to mention you can join the chats and speak to other souls there :)

Thanks for the info.,I'm going to check out the paint.net site.

Thanks for the post, I never considered posting on a regular schedule.

Great Information. Thanks!

Fantastic Article! Especially for a newbie like myself. Only been here a month. Coincidentally I'm a very organized, responsible, and conscientious person; naturally I've been doing most of your list. And yes I just crossed over with a 100 followers and things are coming a long quite nicely on here for me. So as a newbie I can certainly attest to all you wrote!

On a further note, I have a real unique skill set and head full of information. So much information steemit has become like an outlet for me.

I've been living out of a backpack for about 10 years. I've traveled so much I've had to get extra pages in my passport. If my passport didn't expire last year I would have had to get more extra pages.

I write no frill travel reports on steemit, with a rating system and everything. People not only enjoy it, they find the info very valuable. The feedback has been incredible. The positive comments have been so uplifting and more valuable than the money earned.

So what you say is true and I appreciate you sharing this with newbies like myself. If I can only add one thing: everyone is an expert in something, information is power and that brings value. Like you say big bad titles with a fluff toilet paper article is not what I for one am interested in. Quality is key!

On that note, thanks again for sharing I'll certainly be following you!

Dan- "World Travel Pro"

Resteemed because this is information that will help others. Thanks for making it available.

Thanks for this great post ! Amazing conclusion !s

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $188.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the advice. I'm working on making my first post soon.

thank you. i love this article. i am new to Steemit and trying to get better by interacting with my audience. This article was very helpful.

Thanks for this informative post :)

To share is good! Thanks a lot. Resteemed and upvoted.

Some good insight. Thank you.

Tips are always helpful and welcome.
Thank you.

Very useful info here! Will definitely take all that into account.

Not everyone knows of/thinks of the basics. Good post.