Doughty speaks

in #steemit6 years ago

GettyImages-926892128-759x500.jpg
Drew Doughty’s unsportsmanlike conduct penalty factored significantly into Saturday’s 5-3 loss to Chicago. We remember the call, so forgive the absence of full context here.

Emotions were high after Saturday’s game and Doughty did not speak with the media. On Monday, he answered questions from the media present.

On playing with passion and how difficult it is not to say anything when he disagrees with a call:
It’s pretty difficult for me. Obviously, I kind of do it all the time. It’s kind of been a repetitive thing that I’ve been trying to fix. Obviously, I wish I didn’t do it.

On whether coaches or other team leaders work with him to cut down on emotional outbursts:
I don’t know if anyone’s really working with me on it. It’s just upon me to not do it, that’s just the bottom line. Nobody’s really working on me with it or trying to help me out with it. It’s on me to fix it.

On whether it’s more frustrating when he knows the call isn’t a “good call”:
For sure. I don’t lose it if I think the call’s a good call. I would never lose it, obviously. Whether or not the call is right or wrong, I should stay even keel and react the same way. That’s just it. I just have to react the same way no matter what the situation is.