Sort:  

Yes, anxiety issues seem to be rife in the community, something I've noticed with my own interactions with the Bitcoin crew(s) in San Francisco. It really translates, in a rather worrisome and concerning way, in this article.

I also think the cooperative style, almost frat-like environments that these guys are residing are a little bizarre. But, I live alone, and I could live without having n00bs breathing down my neck asking how I can make them moola after they crashed on my couch after a party.

I also think the "higher mission" that many of these guys feel, that exists in the crypto-movement, is fascinating and didn't really sound quite right out of context in the NYT article versus within the internal safety the community (or the crypto-coop). I wonder what they think of the piece. The subjects, that is. They are represented like nouveau riche lab animals.

But, history repeats itself - this anxiety has been documented in many beginning moments financial moments, whether gold or fiat, tulips or seashells. Fear of loss or fear of grand success can be quite a strange and surreal experience.

I'd take therapy over a lambo at this point ;-)