You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello Steem! I am the founder of Etheroll, an Ethereum based, provably-fair dice-game with 50/50 odds and a low 1% house edge. This is my story.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I will be restricting access to all countries via IP that do not allow online gambling without a license. Also, the site is not even up and running, it has all been only testnet Ether, which certainly holds no real value. So absolutely 0 laws have been broken.

It will also not help to operate from Panama. Law in nearly all countries look at point of consumption and not at point of service.

Yes. Thus, country based, blanket IP restrictions.

I am currently looking to let go of the website, domain, and all IP as well. As I have suggested previously, I am looking into other opportunities.

p.s regarding the $$$ lawyers. I have some very good legal contacts here in Australia, if not the world. Those are base market rates. I do not pay market rates. ;-)

Sort:  

Not serving countries where a license is needed will certainly keep you out of jail (you would not have needed a lawyer for that; that is what I wondered about, not the rates but that you pay them). The problem is, that not serving these countries will keep you out of all lucrative markets. So it is either operating illegally with profit or legally without profit.

Selling sounds like the best option. Good to hear that you think about moving on.