You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Things I've Learned In My First 9 Days - #3

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you very much @sighmanjestah, I'm truly honored that you took your time to not only read the articles/comments, but to also understand my motives and intentions. Its also nice that you tell me the spots in the bible that addresses the traits you saw in me. And while no man can be perfect, I realized a long time ago that I should always be thankful to God for my life and live it in such a way that He would be proud.

I really really appreciate the kind words and I'm thankful that we have connected here on steemit. If there is ever anything I can do for you, please don't hesitate to ask. You have made my day with this comment to me and I want you to know that!

Sort:  

I joined Steemit in May 2017 and was fortunate to connect with some wizened Steemians, most notably @papa-pepper and @rebeccaryan. Both of these individuals were very helpful and answered questions that someone else may not have bothered answering.
Unfortunately I also got scammed by an individual by entering the wrong username. The wrong username was specifically used to scam SBD's for an upvoting service. Not only did I send SBD to the wrong person, but I also got in the middle of a whale fight. I didn't know how to handle it. The person that scammed me ended up on his own upvoting me the amount that was erroneously sent. I did not ask him to as I did not want to get involved in their fight.
I also was scammed on the steemit chat and "donated" some SBD to someone who was not who they said they were.
I finally got my wife her own Steemit account and I suggested to her to follow you and I will encourage her to look at your 1st posts and your suggestions. She is a technophobe and so I am trying to teach her some of the ins and outs of just using a computer. It's a struggle, but she is making progress.

If you haven't already come across @papa-pepper you may want to check out a video series he did back in june or july on some tips for minnows.
This is the link for #13 of the series and if you look at the comments sections you will see a link to the 1st video. He tries to keep them under 10 minutes. I think he was not updating the past links in his blog. This may be a great source for some minnow questions you may have or those that you are helping.
https://steemit.com/help/@papa-pepper/advice-from-papa-video-13-tips-for-newer-users-on-steemit
He is quite the character and it may not look like it but he is quite humble.
Have a great rest of the day and I'm sure our paths​ will cross again.


SDG

Once again what a wonderful thing you are doing for me today by telling me about @papa-pepper and @rebeccaryan and what they did for you in the past. You @sighmanjestah will be one of my "@papa-pepper's and @rebeccaryan's" in my future stories about who inspired me when I was new. I can't believe you have taken the time today to not only give me some inspiring insight, but you now give me a heads-up on how to navigate the system (both pluses and minuses)...

I am very enthusiastic about the platform and the potential to truly change people's lives, but I am also aware that many people in life will try to take advantage of people's natural naivety and kindness. While I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you, I'm glad to see that you persevered and overcame it. I will keep your story now in the back of my mind and be careful to mention to others to do the same.

As to your wife, I would be happy to help her in any way I can. I speak relatively plainly so I'm used to helping people just starting. Plus I'm learning as I go so people also get the benefit of knowing I just learned it too. So if I can help her, encourage her to ask me anything and I will address her questions directly. Just tell her to tag me in any comment and I'll catch up to her when I go through my replies (which I do first before I do anything else). :)

Finally I will definitely go through the video from @papa-pepper and read the link you sent me. I am still learning new things every day and realize that many know more than me. I think the value of my role here is not in my artistic abilities (which I have none), but in my ability to have the patience to help everyone (particularly the new ones) and my desire to do my part to make steemit a place that can truly change people's lives. I have seen much in my life and experienced lots of wonderful things, so at a minimum I would like to see many of the poorer people in the world have a chance to have a decent life. I think this could be such a place to give them that opportunity.

Thank you again so much for your reaching out to me... If there is anything I can do for you please let me know. I'm so happy you found me and I hope you have a fantastic and wonderful day! :)

ps... if you could tell your wife to tell me who she is when she's ready, I will give her encouragement to contact me anytime.

My wife is @lildebbiecakes she posted just below your last post to me.


SDG

awesome, and again thank you for making the connection to me!

I watched it, its a very good perspective on things and I learned some new things to help me in the future. I think it is great how well all the people before me are doing and its nice to actually be a part of the community. Thanks so much again for the kind words and direction, it is very much appreciated!!!