A Steemit Tutorial From One Minnow to Another Minnow

in #steemit7 years ago

Greetings! Salutations! And Hey guys from Tsu and Facebook!

I am still new here but my first week I did tons of research on Steemit and how it works and what everything means. I have had a lot of people ask me how to do things on here and I will answer these questions in the most simplest way possible.

Sure there are other articles posted on Steemit about how to make posts and what things mean but to be honest some of it written in a very complex way and sometimes people just want a simple explanation. So, here is my attempt to explain it.

download.png

What Is Up With The Voting Deal?

From what I have gathered this is how voting works. You have several different monetary resources. STEEM, STEEM POWER, and SBD or STEEM DOLLARS. The more Steem Power you have the more your vote counts. Everyone starts off with 15 SP which grows as you post and get upvoted. However you can buy STEEM from the market and convert it to STEEM POWER.

You get most influenced vote power when your vote power is above 60%. They calculate vote power based upon the assumption that you are only going to vote 20 times in 24 hours. Now from what I can see this is a "ROLLING" 24 hours which means 1 vote at 2pm will be removed from the calculation the next day at 1pm.

But as a first or second week minnow vote away. Your upvote is worth about a penny anyways and the more you vote 2 things happen. For one, you can rake in curation awards in 7 days time. Curation rewards help your STEEM POWER go up. Secondly, upvoting people shows you are an active user and are interested or recognize someone's work. The more you are an active upvoter the better the chances someone will follow you and upvote on your stuff.

Down voting is possible. But seriously don't be a butt and down vote unless its super super bad. It's rude to down vote and if someone is paying attention they can tell you have down voted them. You will deplete voting power and you won't get it back for 24 hours. If you must know how to down vote, you upvote then you un upvote.

Vote within 30 mins of the post being posted.

There are also several places where you can delegate a percentage of your voting power but that is for a future article. One last thing on voting is COMMENT COMMENT COMMENT on people's posts. Make sure tho you really read it and comment on it that's relative. People can and will upvote your comment which in return will give you an authors award in 7 days.
http://steemnow.com and https://steemstats.com/#!/ are two easiest sites to figure out your vote power and awards.

What Is This? Quick Facts!

Some people have asked what the number beside your name on your profile means. To break it down, everyone starts off as 25. The more you become engaged and the more upvotes you receive the higher the number will be. This states that basically you make good posts and people want to read / view your stuff.

It takes a rolling 7 days for your author and curator awards to be accumulated and paid out.

Every time you post, re-steem, or comment is counts as a post.

People can see your comments and replies so make sure they are all meaningful.

Your password is NOT RECOVERABLE! So create a text document label it some strange crap like monkey's in the attic and upload a copy to DropBox or Google Docs.

Voting power 50 /50 means your post will get 75% awards and upvoters get 25%. Your 75% gets broken down to 50% SBD and 25% SP. The upvoters will get a percentage of the 25% so make this easy numbers. A post gets $1.00 there was 4 voters. You would get 50 cents in SBD and a percentage of that in SP. The voters will get the 25% divided by 4.

100% power up means that it is all delegated to upvote / curator awards. If you upvote your own post you still will get the SP based on the percent delegated to you based on amount and other upvotes but you will not get any SBD from the post.
You can tag people in posts and comments by using the normal way @usernamehere.

Check out your stats and awards here https://steemitboard.com/

How to Write Posts!

A lot of people have asked me about formatting, photos, and links. There is a clickable link at the top of the text box that says Markdown Guide. You can click on it and it will bring up a new window that gives examples of markdowns / styling.

Drag and drop images is the most easiest way to get a photo into the post.

Cutting and pasting links is the most easiest way to put them in your post. Even YouTube videos. Just copy the link for the video and paste into your post. It will automatically embed video without any extra code.

Use relevant and popular tags. If you look to the right of your feed you will see the most commonly used tags.

I Hope This Gives You A Running Start

When my friends start asking about cash out when they get to that point I will write another article on that. Steemit does not use PayPal as a form of cash out but I will explain how to use the direct deposit features in PayPal so you can still get it transferred you PayPal account.

Sort:  

Wow, and I trust @deadgrlsuppastar cause she is very tech savvy. So thanks for this insight on steemit and oh yeah by the way #Shared ;)

Thanks love!!!!!! I upvoted your comment!!!!!!!!!!

Like how you have explained some of this, it is a lot clearer than some others that I have read.

Thanks. That is what I tried to do. I have followed you..

thanks I appreciate the follow.

you are welcome

Helpful for newbies!

Thanks. I have found many articles but they didn't explain it quite like this!

Really useful article. Saves the hassle of digging through FAQ

I have followed you. I am glad you enjoyed it!

Greta post for a newbie like me who hasn't done anywhere enough research

One question, am I understanding it right in that your saying initially it doesn't matter if your voting percentage drops way low as it has with mine climbed back up to 20% initially when your a newbie and starting out you should still upvote at least 20 a day?

Yes. It is actually beneficial as a newbie to upvote. Our upvotes are not worth much money until we start collecting steem power from our curation and author awards. It is good to get your name out there and also collect that curator award to get more steem so our votes are worth something,

Ok thanks for the advise

you're welcome. Technically if you play the cards correctly you make money off sheer upvoting and commenting...

Really helpful. I am new too and have started to understand things better. But your post really helped.

I have followed you! I am glad this helped.

Great, thanks. I followed you too.

Brilliant, bookmarking this for anyone I refer. You're always so on point with your articles though.

Thanks for the breakdown. Resteeming this! My account is only a few days old so I am still scratching my head here and there trying to make sense of things. How do you down vote? Not that I plan to, just don't see it as an option on my screen.

after you upvote you unclick your upvote...

Oops, I may have accidentally downvoted people then. I thought that would take it to a neutral setting. Thanks for the info!

NO it doesnt... it down votes and then wastes your voting power

thanks for the tips!

Thanks for the tips and hints, Liz! I need to set aside a couple hours to get moving along here on Steemit. Your post is a terrific starting place! Please add me @ninahaskin - I was #Cybermom on #TSU

Um! You have zip at your place!!! How can we play here with nothing posted? @ninahaskin

I'm so behind, Denise! Please be patient and I promise to catch up :)

Oh!! Did you know that Patience was my middle name? No? Ha... It is. :-) Take your time girlie. I am only able to be on here by ignoring all the other plaltforms, including FB, Niume, Linkdrop and App8 Yikes

Is it seriously Patience?! How cool of your parents! I'm working on my account as we speak :)

Lies! Lies!!! I have no middle name, so I adopted Patience for the day.

I will also add you to the tsu friends list im posting tonight

Thank you, Elizabeth!

I did add you... its me liz from FB and Niume LOL

Hey, Nina!!!!! You are here!!! You really should have gone with the #Cybermom on here~ This is def the new TSU! :-) Oh, post me a good story!!! Following you now. I am headed over to your place to see whatcha got. Got milk? Oi!

Hello @deadgrlsuppastar! Thank you for taking all the fun out of being lost for another month! :) I am still a little fuzzy on the 50/50 voting, but, hey... I am powered down without any voting power. Here. Take one. I really do want to vote for you, but, you will have to take a resteeming. :-) Thanks ! Great write up!

LOL... think of it as a pizza pie.. you get 75% of the pizza and the up voters get 25%. Now on your 75% of the pizza 50% is pepperoni and 25% is cheese (75%). the pepperoni is the actual SBD or Steem Dollars that is considered liquid cash in the end. the cheese part is dedicated to your steem power.. which the higher the steem power the more SBD you give someone when you upvote. the 25% of the pizza that is not yours which is also cheese gets split among people who upvoted your post. Its best to use 50/50 for most of the time but every so often do a 100% power up. It will tell people you care..

Its ok about being out of voting power... ask @manuel78 how he delegates his power out because you don't have to give someone 100% power.. you can give them 50% and it wont deplete your voting power as quickly

That is when you are higher up on the food chain. Us minnows give 100% :)

Newbie here. Thank you for posting this. I found it helpful, and learned I accidently down voted my own color challenge photo. LOL. I had accidentally upvoted it and then clicked it again fearing I would look like I was upvoting myself. Oops.

Lol... It is ok to upvote yourself.. No one will hold it against you! I have followed you

thanks very much my dear friend

Shared this great post @deadgrlsuppastart! Finally got my introduction post done so I'm not a ghost anymore. Thanks for the tips and pointers, and especially https://steemitboard.com

You are welcome. I am sorry I haven't responded sooner. I have a root tip infection and been a bit out of it today. I will go upvote and share

This helps a bit, but the whole thing still has me flummoxed.

Is this a good thing? What do I do with all this @deadgrlsuppastar?
In the past week, two different people have given me... steem power, or something, and I don't know what to do with or about it all