You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HEY WHALES??...When are you going to get around to banning upvote bots???

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey, Steve, I'm on your side. As a new member of Steemit like you, it is quite annoying to have to scan through bots and spam posts to read good quality posts. Even though it's quite easy to differentate between a human and a bot, I feel as if there are so many bots it is cluttering up the site.

If I could wave a magic wand, I would not allow these bots on this site.

Sort:  

Exactly. Thanks!

It's not the bots you can see that are the bigger problem, though, IMHO. It's people paying for their posts to be bogusly upvoted by bots that is a really corrupt practice.

yeah that don't make no sense, how can they get away with that, who runs this thing anyway?
who are the Whales also? where do you find them and how do you know someone is a Whale?
and what are their reputation numbers like?

I don't have any firm definitions ... but I'm gathering anyone 60+ in rating who gets three figures every time they post is a "whale." I'm sure some are good people and have the best interests of the site in mind. We need to identify the good ones as best we can, and vote for them for witnesses. You can youtube up "steemit witnesses" and there are some good explanations, Jon. Please do upvote this post if you like it. Thanks!

K. thanks