PROJECT ACT OF KINDNESS: RESTORING HOPE, GIVING MEANING TO LIFE

in #steemit6 years ago

download (8).jpg
Life has meaning and worth when we use the little we have to meet the needs of those who do not have. I am Albert Martins (@deeambuiltandach). I joined Steemit in the month of January, year 2018. This post is dedicated to my project “ACT OF KINDNESS”.

ABOUT PROJECT ACT OF KINDNESS
All around me are different classes of people. Those who have means and those who do not have means yet all have needs and wants. A particular set of people who never cease to burden my heart are children (orphans, school dropouts and special challenged) and helpless widows.
Project Act of Kindness is targeted at supporting orphans by providing them with a home, providing education for school dropouts as well as equipping helpless widows with skills and fund to start business and bounce back to life.
HOW DID THIS START?
The Story of Tunde
In the year 2012, I returned home from a vigil and found a boy of 12 years lying at my doorpost. I was scared at first but drew nearer and woke him up. He told me his name is Tunde and has no where to go. This troubled me yet I could not take him in immediately. So I sat down with him till day break.
He was putting on rags and looked hungry and unkempt. My first action was to give him food, bathe him and gave him new clothes (even though they were bigger than him). He could not speak well because his tongue was twisted.
I began making enquiries round the community if anyone knew him. The few who claim to know him said his parents rejected him because they could not cope with his inabilities. Tuned himself wept at any mention of his family claiming they hate him for inabilities he never brought on himself (i wish i have his pictures).
I took him in as a son and gave him the best I could afford. I was already making arrangement to get him enrolled in school when Tunde decided to take me to his village (Owena, Ondo State, Nigeria). I had to ask for the company of a friend. When we got there, his relatives were shocked to see him and claimed they thought he was dead. After much discussion with them, they still refused to take him in claiming his inabilities was as a result of his parents fault to yield to traditions.
I went back to Iree, Osun State where I lived with Tunde. He was always around me and we always went to my shop where I rendered computer services. In a space of weeks, Tunde who was partially insane was getting healed, he was beginning to operate computer and he could speak audibly. The twisted tongue was no more. I loved Tunde.
Just few weeks to Tunde’s resumption at school, i received a phone call to return home from work because Tunde was distressed. I came back and saw bruises on his body. He was flogged by some guys because he was rude to them. I wept for Tunde and immediately took steps for his treatment.
The following day, Tunde ran away from my home and I never saw him again. I wept. I since committed myself to assist orphanage homes, visit prisons, home of handicapped and less priviledged as well as the aged.
Project Act of Kindness will on a monthly basis use donations received to meet the needs of between 5 – 10 people who fall within the category of its scope. This could just be the beginning of having my dreamed orphanage home.
Action point
There will be deliberate efforts to discover people in the society who have these special needs and let them know help is coming. My first coverage will be Eyenkorin, a growing community at the outskirts of Ilorin, Kwara State.
Widows will be trained in choice skill and given capital to startup.
Children who are school dropouts will be returned back to school. School owners will be discussed with to receive special slash on tuition fee. This will enable me provide education for more children.
Orphanage homes will be visited and provided with basic needs as support.
PROJECT ACT OF KINDNESS........restoring hope and giving meaning to life

Sort:  

Well done. More power to your elbow even as you carry on the good work

Bless you sir!