What is a Steemit Witness and How do I get one?

in #steemit6 years ago


What is a witness on Steemit?

Hey Steemians and D Tubers and I guess apparently there are also D Livers which I'm not on yet probably will be before long But I have a question.
Backup I'm Delilah Taylor still the gooby new be here on steemit and D Tube.
I was exploring through D-tube earlier and again came across somebody asking about a witness, being a witness as Steam Witness.

What is that? Okay ladies first off let me show you what I was looking at.

Okay so I'm following David pakman.

And he's talking about interviews that he has coming up and stuff. So please follow him for some really great content.

In part of this he's talking about going from being a minnow to a dolphin.

Which I don't know what that is yet. I'm guessing the minnow is still what I am and somewhere swimming in the bottom of the pool waiting just to be eaten by bigger fish. I'm not real sure.

You know somebody probably a newbie like myself this still starting out and maybe he's moved up into that next level is there some way to determine this I don't know.

That's a question for another day.

But at the moment and part of this video he's talking about having interviews with witnesses.

Watch my D-Tube video for the answer.

Subby to my channel for more answers to important questions like this.

And please give your answer below in the comments.

Are you a witness? Tell us about your experience.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You need a high RAM server with a solid connection.. Linux operating system.

As witnesses we basically run the servers globally that create STEEM blocks.

Minnows are new users, dolphins are wealthier users.

42 is your reputation score.

I'm a witness, former top 20. Currently 32 I believe.
Your vote for witness coupled with your SP helps move the witnesses up or down the list that you like or see doing good for the network, and has good uptime for blocks, is fast to update or fix falled servers, and ultimately are working for the network. If you're a witness the network pays you for securing and building the network. The miner explanation is close to true.. In this case the community vote decides who creates the networks blocks.

Very cool info. Thank you @klye

I wish u wanna become one ....

Become a Witness? Maybe someday. I wanna understand Steemit and Dtube first.

i've never studied literature in class, but i can know some content are of quality, you post is superb, thank you

Super appreciated :) Thank you

I would like a detailed post on this subject matter as i always like jotting everything to understand better

Hi Sam,
Click on the pic above to see the video. There is much more explained there. I take you inside the FAQ section of Steemit where you can find more information.
I'm still learning this platform too and will be posting more questions that pop into my head and create videos searching for the answers.