Utah's Spring Steemit Meet Up 2018!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Do you want to meet your fellow Steemians in Utah?

Well I do too. I am still pretty new to this platform, but I have been seeing Steemit communities all over the globe get together and meet each other and I think it is about time that the Utah and surrounding areas get out from behind the computer screens and step outside to get together for a good time.


Steemit.jpg
Image created by me using the Steemit Logo


Why should we meet eachother?

The main part of what makes Steemit great is the community, and to build a stronger and better community I think we need to get to know each other outside of the digital world. What better way to do that than having some burgers, hot dogs and cold beverages while we all hang out?


calendar.jpeg
© 2018 - CC0 Creative Commons - source - Photo by Rawpixel


When is this awesomeness going to take place?

The tentative date I am thinking is Sunday May 6th. I chose this date because the weather should be warmer and we shouldn't have to worry about getting rained out. This is also the weekend between Spring and Summer schedules for college classes, so hopefully it will fit into everyone's schedules.

Now for the hard part, narrowing down a location.

Utah is a pretty decent sized state and I know we have some of you up north in the Ogden area, some in the Salt Lake City area and I am in Utah County. We may have some further down south in the St. George area that may drive up as well, so I am thinking that it would be easiest to keep it close to Salt Lake or in Utah County area where I am. I have access to multiple parks in my neighborhood with grills, plenty of tables, playgrounds for the kids to play on and there is plenty of parking at each of these locations. Once we get an idea where everyone is coming from, we can start to narrow down the location further.


burger.jpeg
© 2017 - CC0 Creative Commons - source - Photo by Jens Mahnke


Now to the good part, FOOD!

What good is getting together and hanging out if there is nothing to eat? I will be providing the hamburgers and hot dogs for the event, but I would ask that if those that plan on attending to think about bringing some sort of side dish, chips or drinks to share with everyone. I want this to be a family friendly event, so please no alcohol at this. Trust me, I like to have a drink as much as the next person, but since a lot of you will be driving some distance to get here and I want to make sure that everyone is comfortable bringing their families and children, I ask that we refrain from bringing alcohol this time. Trust me, we will do other meet ups for those of us that like to have an alcoholic beverage or two and we can get a few drinks or even tour some of the local distilleries.

So what do I need from all of you?

This is going to be a call to action for all of you that know anyone in the Steemit community in or around the Utah area that would want to attend. Tag them in this post or tell them about the meet up. If you would like to resteem this post, so that it could possibly find those people nearby that we may not know, that would be awesome of you. I would like to see the Utah Steemit community grow and become a group of friends outside of the platform as well. If you are not near Utah, and you want to attend you are more than welcome to come hang out as well, we would love to have you here.

Some of the awesome Steemians that I know live in Utah already area are @faitherz33, @rodeo670, @roboraver, @caseygrimley, @jarvie, and @iancox. There has to be more of us out there. Comment below if you will be able to make it or tag those that you know of that are near by. I will post another update as we get closer to the date. Spread the word and I look forward to seeing everyone at the event!

Sort:  

We will be there!

Awesome! It should be a good time getting to know everyone. What area would you be coming from?

West Jordan :)

Do a Dlive of the event! Would love to see more Steemians meeting together.

I am sure that there will be Dlive's being done by those that are attending! It should be pretty epic.

Excited to see photos of this meetup Deranged! ♥

There are going to be some amazing photographers here for the event, so there will be some great images come out of this.

Utah usually has such a good presence on tech and social media... we have some work to do to get more people here eh?

I know right? We have to spread the word on this to see if we can find all the Utah Steemians. Represent!