Why Exactly Are You on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I don’t know about you but I’m here to make money. Plain and simple.

When I first came here and saw the dollar signs at the bottom of the posts, I knew I was in the right place. I was in content creator heaven. Not only can I have eyeballs on my content but I can also make the money back from promoting the posts.

I can also make a profit from the money I spent on promotion. I make 18% from the SBD I spend on minnowbooster. That’s not something to laugh at. I spend 100 SBD on minnowbooster and make 118 SBD/SP the next week. If we do a little math (18 x $4 = 72 USD), that’s a decent return for my investment of both time and money.

By paying to promote my posts, I also get access to the hot or trending pages and this attracts more views. Those views result in more upvotes (more money), more followers (more money eventually), and more reblogs (also, more money). Caveat emptor: you have to post useful or at least entertaining content to make this work. Otherwise you might get flagged to oblivion.

As a bonus, whatever I create stays on the blockchain forever. Unlike squidoo, your content will be there forever. Even if steemit ceases to exist, your content will still be there and you’ll still be able to access them with a little technical know-how.

Best. Platform. Ever.

Nothing’s Wrong with Wanting to Make Money

What do all steemians have in common? It doesn’t matter if you’re a whale, an orca, a dolphin, a minnow or a plankton like me. We all want to make money. We just have different ways of going around it.

If you’re a big player, you’ll want to make the biggest return on your SP with minimum effort. That’s why you’ll see a lot of whales delegating to upvote bots. Some self-upvote without remorse.

If you’re someone with some extra money to invest, you’ll probably do what I’m doing and pay for the bots to promote your posts and make money while doing so.

But what if you don’t have money to invest? You post as many comments as you can on the highest pay-out posts you can.

I’m not judging. We all try to make most of what’s available to us.

We Can’t Change People by Telling Them to Change

Show. Don’t tell.

No amount of convincing will ever change the mind of people. The more you tell them they’re wrong, the more they’ll be more convinced that they are right. It’s human nature.

A more powerful way of influencing people is by being an example. I’m trying to convince steemians to create quality content and promote them using minnowbooster to make money. And I do just that.

I don’t spend time trying to flag every bad content I see. Because I know it’s impossible to do.

“I went down by a different staircase, and I saw another "Fuck you" on the wall. I tried to rub it off with my hand again, but this one was scratched on, with a knife or something. It wouldn't come off. It's hopeless, anyway. If you had a million years to do it in, you couldn't rub out even half the "Fuck you" signs in the world. It's impossible.”
Holden Caulfield, The Catcher in the Rye

Instead, I try to focus my energy on creating something useful or at least entertaining. Here’s what the Blue Paper has to say about the content we should be creating:

“The users who produce content are adding value to the network by creating material that will drive new users to the platform, as well as keep the existing users engaged and entertained. This aids in distributing the currency to a wider set of users and increases the network effect. The users that take time to evaluate and vote on content are playing an important role in distributing the currency to the users who are adding the most value.”

Two things to remember when writing content:

  1. Content should drive new users to the platform
  2. Existing users must be engaged and entertained

I’m sure bickering is entertaining for some people. But I doubt if it will drive new users to the platform.

If a thing’s worth doing, it’s worth doing well.

We’ve established that we all here want to make money and we all have different ways of doing it. That doesn’t mean it’s okay to do it badly. Whatever ‘it’ means for you.

For Minnows

If you’re a minnow with no resources, the best way to make money is by commenting on posts. How do you do it the right way? First, comment only on posts you really care about and have something to add to. “Great post” simply won’t cut it. Try to add value to the conversation or don’t comment at all.

For Those with Money to Spend

Please don’t post a few paragraphs and spend all your available SBD/SP on promoting them. That’s not good for steemit and ultimately not good for you. Remember, your posts must drive new users to the platform or at least be engaging or entertaining.

For the Whales

Theoretically, whales will curate the best posts. They have the most to gain or lose if steemit succeeds or not. But if you have a couple million SP in your account, curating content must be the last thing on your mind.

Delegating to bots is okay. Just choose the ones that really try to make steemit better. Minnowbooster is the best as far as I’m concerned.

It also wouldn’t hurt if you whales upvote good content now and then. Some of you already do and I commend you for doing that.

Honestly, I don’t expect any of you to listen. That’s okay. I’ll just continue doing my business and do what I do the best that I can.

Sort:  

The main reason is that Steemit gives me the reason to post

And that reason, in all likelihood, is money. :)

I love this post!
There are a lot of reasons to be here. And as you said, It's perfectly okay to be here for the money. Money is always a great motivator for us to do things. Because we all have bills to pay.

Just think of all the art that never would have been created if they weren't offered payment for their work. I feel like we would of missed out on a lot of great stuff without those patreons.

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

I am no good writer, dont have much money.. how can I survive?

You don't seem to be doing so badly.

But that's a good point. You have to develop the skills. It can be done. I'm not a native English speaker myself but I think I write better than a lot of those who are born English speakers.

I didn't have money on here when I started but I figured it is a pay to win game. (Life is pay to win anyway.) So I invested money and it's become easier to generate income from my posts since then.

videos my friend, videos

copied videos wont generate anything good.. I think some of my kids video would be entertaining..

yes certainly not copied videos, original content

but if youre right then its a manipulated value, so is it really trustworthy and "investable" as you say?
p.s. financial wonk, kudos.

You are correct. If the price is being manipulated then you have to be concerned that when the manipulation stops, the price will go on a different trajectory. Perhaps that still gives room to speculate while the manipulation is in progress?

get in while the gettins' good

I need to take a little time soon to really understand bots, rested I gotta, leasing votes, delegating, etc. I think I have posted decent content and have 500 or so followers, but I want to make more money so that I can really reinvest in the platform.

or cut and run with the BTC while you still can

I like what you're saying, this space is definitely a great way to make money. But I will say, I follow a bunch of people, and even with that, it's pretty disheartening to scroll my feed and see nothing but Bitcoin market recaps, calls for Witness votes, and posts with just a Youtube video linked. This site will only survive with people making clever content, funny posts, witty satire, or actual original journalism.

I guess the irony is that, those are the posts that will make the money... that and crypto recaps... because let's be serious... that shit is popular here :)

See guys? It's not that hard to add something intelligent to the discussion.

this however, is an excellent example of what not to do

I read this after posting my comment, yeah, ditto.

Facts
Facts
Facts
You spoke my mind here. Let's cut the pretense and work on contributing quality to our mutual investment (Steemit). Everyone loves money.

Resteemed!

Nice post, I think everyone regardless of what they say are here to make money. If not they could just go to Youtube, facebook or any other social media platform. While those sites censor you if they don't like what you create, If you don't care about making money then it won't really matter and you won't be posting things that will flag you, there ARE was of posting without triggering the censors so, yeah I think everyone here is wanting to make money. But that doesn't mean that they do not want to create good content. But it is all about the benjis.

I like this article for being so honest and frank. We all want to make money. I remember engaging in endless youtube and forum comment wars during my college days. I didn't get paid monetarily by that but the satisfaction of 'winning' a comment war was super-rewarding.

And then I realised there are paid-to-post forums/platforms like ForumCoin, myLot and Steemit. Well, no more exciting comment wars but the exchanges of ideas are still rewarding.

This is the kind of comment I'm talking about.

You mean my comment??

I meant steemit users should comment like you did.

I wanted talk more about who I am and why I am on steemit. It's important to me that I am able to express my role as a steemian. Improves my writing skills and able to explore diversed perspectives of people on different phenomenon

Nice post

I make 18% from the SBD I spend on minnowbooster. That’s not something to laugh at. I spend 100 SBD on minnowbooster and make 118 SBD/SP the next week.

Now that you're on the whitelist you make 25%.

Hey I didn't know that! Looks like I'll be reaching my goals sooner than I thought. Thanks man.

We all have to keep contributing and not just consume if we want to get to where want on Steemit!

Take money out of the equation, how can you serve everyone else?

Great post! Informative and honest obviously written by someone who knows how hard it is to not only to create work, but also to earn anything from it. Medium, Steemit, and Yours are the main sns I post my writing on simply because they at least pay a little bit for the time and effort I put into it. FB and Twitter or okay to build a following with, but it is much nicer to see a few dollars (Yen in my case) end up in my bank account too.

Not going to lie I love to make money. I'm going to try my best to put good content. Good luck to you all.

Well, I may be doing it wrong - but I'm here not to grab a lot of money by posting, rather promote my game here (and earn money for selling it to those who are interested).

Money from curation for me is a secondary bonus, while primary - attention of people who are interested in games or comics (I do this stuff too).

Wow @digitaldreamer, thanks for writing this post. For a while there, I thought that I won't cut it as a Steemian (I'm still new here btw). But now that I've read your post, I really feel that creating good content is the way to go here.

Thanks again for the informative post!

As soon as I came across the title of your post, I clicked on it. This is what means when you want your posts to be engaging for the existing users. I completely agree that most of us are here to earn money .Its the simple law of trade . When you sell something good you get rewarded fairly. If you are writing good content you will be rewarded . If you keep providing good service the customers return . Likewise if you keep giving good and entertaining content to the platform the users will return to read your posts. Great advise . Thanks

Gracias por tus consejos, estoy de acuerdo en que deben mejorar los contenidos de las publicaciones y los comentarios, yo trato en lo posible de hacerlo, si me lo propongo firmemente se que lo puedo alcanzar. Me he topado con publicaciones muy buenas y cuando examino los comentarios, estos son muy pobres o lo que es más grave pareciera que los que comentan no entendieron el mensaje del autor. Yo no tengo recursos para invertir en promoción de mis publicaciones pero trato de subir la escalera peldaño a peldaño, teniendo paciencia y tratando de mejorar.

Te agradezco que escribas en español. De esta forma, puedes expresarte más exactamente.

Why exactly am I on steemit? Of course, for the money! The people upvoted this post wanted to get a share on the curation. Even the people who posted comments are waiting to get upvotes. The reason people joined steemit is because of money for sure. No one can deny!☺️

My point exactly. But that doesn't mean the posts must be crap. You can make money while posting content worth reading.

Yes I agree! People should post quality content to continue the flow of interactions. Good content will result to more followers and more followers to more upvotes and more upvotes more money. More money everybody happy!lol..;-)

That's true steemit rulez because it pays! No advertisement needed!

Looking for an alternative to facebook. Though Steem does lack privacy features and a delete button!

You'll most likely be disappointed. Steemit is not an alternative to Facebook.

I agree that most every person here is out to make money. The one thing I wish and was one of my very first posts is that we could change the subject a bit and talk about more than money and crypto, seems all the trending is about money in some form or another.

We all get it, crypto is awesome, we all love it, so on, but man can't we talk about something else for a while.

There are good writers here that deserve more attention. If only they promoted their posts more so they'd hit the trending page. Here's one I just discovered.

https://steemit.com/@kadavy

Wow, great find, his entire list of postings are great, just got a follower of me.

The way I see it, the money situation is two-fold. I only just had my four month anniversary here on Steemit and there are some fundamental issues that money further excarbates. There is nothing wrong with making money, but this platform will only survive if people give back as much as they're taking.

You're right, comments are a great way for Minnows and Planktons to make money. And sadly, they are the only way you can really make money in your early days on the Steemit platform. But there is a flaw in this approach, because it's not that easy.

In my experience, there are a tonne of greedy people on this platform thinking for themselves and their wallets, nothing much more. I see users with high amounts of Steem Power with $10+ 100% upvotes being cheapos with their voting power, I regularly see power users doling out 1% upvotes which equate to almost nothing, or in some cases, just not upvoting comments at all.

My most profitable comment only happened recently and it was on a @berniesanders post I put a lot of effort into my comment and ended up earning 5.662 SBD and 1.436 Steem Power. But every comment I write I put effort into and this was the first time someone with high voting power had actually decided to vote with more than a 1% upvote, I was extremely grateful and happy about that.

If we truly want to help newbies to Steemit, we need to stop being cheapskates with SP. If your vote at 100% is worth $20, that means at 25% your vote is worth $5. If someone takes the time to leave a comment that they put a tonne of time and effort into writing, reward them with at least a minimum of a 12.5% upvote which is worth $2. Or if you really want to help, a 15-20%+ upvote is even better.

Content should drive new users to the platform

Sadly, this couldn't be any further from the truth at the moment. Content isn't driving anything, it's a bunch of circle-jerking and voting bots. Looking at the trending page, many of the posts that are there admittedly wouldn't be there if there was an organic trending section because they're trash.

New users come to Steemit in hopes of making money, but the reality is unless you have money to invest into bots, you're most likely going to make nothing.

Existing users must be engaged and entertained

You can go look at the comments that high Steem Power/reputation users leave and their voting records, most power users are above the 80% self-vote figure. The problem is there is no incentive for power users to give back, so they just keep upvoting their own comments and posts and rarely anything by anyone else.

Not only that, but there is a handful of power users flagging without cause and raping the reward pool. I've been on the receiving end of power user flags before (just a couple) not for spamming or low quality content, but for disagreeing.

The sad reality of this site is a large percentage of people who join will quit within the first month. This platform is like climbing a high mountain with weights on your back and no oxygen tank.

You speak my mind..
How I wish this post can go far to the whales.

Thanks for your words of encouragement to the minnows. for me I first came in here for money but I quickly figured out that with no investment into the platform, I will be a difficult upward slope, also I don't have abundance of available INTERNET in my country, so for now, I just breeze in and out of the platform, not expectant of anything.

I'm on Steemit to increase adoption of crypto currencies

which will eventually increase the value of the currencies you are holding which means that will also make you . . . , yeah, money!

WARNING - The message you received from @yady is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/anti-phishing-war-the-crooks-continue-their-bashing-campaign

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

You got a 18.18% upvote from @botcoin courtesy of @infoslink!

Your post is very good. It is evident that we are all here for the reason of earning foreign currency. but when I came to steemit I saw that this was a dream come true the way you do what you like and get to know new friendships and relate with beautiful people around the world in a healthier and more attractive without discrimination with all the trends to share simply charming ...

Why exactly are you on steemit? This is the good question. As we know, we were here just want to be the best, show to the world what can we do, giving the actual and factual isue, and ofcourse our first goal is get much money as soon as possible.
Like me, i am a poor man who must repair his crazy father. My father was broke anythings in the home. So yuuup. I need more money for repairing my father mindset healthy.
Hope you all help me. Thanks

Cool, I think alot of whales should read your post, a little reminder won't hurt

Increible post!! Resteemed!

Oh the irony! :)

¿Por qué?

Oke thank brother all steemiant

Oke thank brother all steemiant

Mainly because I am mentally ill

I read somewhere that a mentally ill person doesn't know he is mentally ill.

That person was obviously mentally ill

Congratulations @digitaldreamer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi, When I knew of steemit I drew the attention of making money, not so much about this entirndo but just keep trying, because I have discovered that I have an endless of possibilities and i am in the ability to write, draw, among other thing, which has given a new meaning to my life, even nop won a lot but I enjoy what I am doing. Thank you for sharing

I like Crypto and I don't really like Reddit anymore.. seems like a perfect marriage.

Well said. I think steemit is a more a community than a platform for making spare change.....

To show people the truth

I love all tech and steemit seems to be full of great howtos and lots of original art!

I am here to share information, share some steem and make a few bucks doing it!

Lovely post, That steemit give tha best post.

I feel like this is an extremely clever and subtle advertisement for minnowbooster.

Nicely said.
However, what can one do when this doesn't work for them? This is in respect to the minnows

Thank you for the info, came to know about quite a few things that I didn't know @digitaldreamer

people needs motives to produce more and more , it varies from a person to the other but what really drives us is our love to earn more money , and there is absolutly no limits for that .

I have been doing research on this Bot upvote of a thing, Can you throw more light on it?

according to you "I can also make a profit from the money I spent on promotion. I make 18% from the SBD I spend on minnowbooster. That’s not something to laugh at. I spend 100 SBD on minnowbooster and make 118 SBD/SP the next week. If we do a little math (18 x $4 = 72 USD), that’s a decent return for my investment of both time and money."

The 100SBD you paid is it for the whole of your post for the week or just for a particular post?"

Once you get accepted in the whitelist, you get a daily limit of 100SBD. For non-whitelisted users, the limit is only 50 SBD.

i.e
I write a post, submit it then wait till i am whitelisted before i can pay for an upvote?

Please if you can simplify i will be so happy

No. You can upvote your post using minnowbooster even if you're not yet whitelisted. However, you'll be limited to spending 50 SBD only.

According my research i read that minnowboster upvotes you 3X the amount you sent.
For example i write a post and then send 5SBD, and minnow booster is at full strength of 60%. what will be their upvote worth on the post?