self_dined freedom of speech*** the steemit pyramid of power

in #steemit6 years ago

You think a post deserves to be flagged, but they could see you did it and they'll flag you back out of spite! And hey, their reputation is high, it'll do some damage!
So you shut your mouth and move on!

You notice yourself disagreeing with some content and get ready to make a harsh comment. But then it occurs to you that you'll get flagged, you'll lose money, reputation..
And again, you shut your mouth and move on!

Steemit is all about freedom from censorship, but what's the point when you censor yourself all day? Don't get me wrong, I'm all about being nice and kind, but the amount of times I stopped myself from expressing my disagreement makes me feel rather embarrassed.

DQmVg9pBeqn93GsL2MVJGNZLP99DMCZ3B2rVEitTXj9voVW.jpg
source

I noticed a pattern here, and it's a bit scary! The higher your SP and reputation, the more power you have over the fish below you! Not many minnows will go arguing and attacking a whale, because they could destroy you easily if they set their mind to!
If this was any other platform you would let it all out and made sure they knew what you have to say. But on here you feel like a little kid at the grown ups' table, just because they have more cash!

You're either being extra nice to the 'big bosses' for attention or you mind your own business! So instead of freedom, you get a pyramid of power that convinces you to stay nice and quiet. And just like real life, power = money!
It's not the brightest direction this platform's going if you ask me, but let me know what you think!

Corina

Sort:  

Personally I go on being me. If a whale doesn't like it that is on them. I do me and don't worry about them. I have had disagreements with some at different points and I think it has to do more with approach then it does with criticism. I have even not seen eye to eye with Bernie and he has never flagged me over it because of my approach you can see things differently than others and not get flagged. It is all about how you come across. Is it come across as constructive or does it come across as I am dick? Sadly there have been many dicks out there so it has made people who do understand the difference too scared to speak up when they see something they see as wrong. I personally wouldn't worry about whales period. Don't worry about trying to get their votes or what they are doing. Work on building your own micro community to grow yourself into a whale so you can be the change you want to see on the site. The way to do that is bring people in. Btw these are just my opinions and random thoughts inspired by your post. I am not saying you have done or not done any of these things it just in general thoughts..

Congratulations @dohamega! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @dohamega! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!