Thanks for Your Comment, But Where's the Upvote? Join the Debate!

in #steemit7 years ago

I have two thoughts on this:

  1. It’s just about ok to leave a comment without Upvoting the post as long as the comment is of real value that enhances the post, provides genuine contribution to the discussion and at the end of the day leaves a good feeling for the person posting. A bit of a connection and relationship building wouldn’t hurt either.

  2. I think it’s not ok to just comment without Upvoting if there’s no genuine addition to the discussion or value added. Worst yet, if it’s just a copy/paste comment in the hope and intention of begging for Follows or Post views.

On my last previous post I had a fantastic example of this.

Of course this is a public platform so should this be expected and acceptable?

I do understand that we only have 10 Upvotes each day for Steem Power sustainability and we want to make those count.

And in addition of course we have unlimited Posts as comments.

So anyway, what do you think about commenting without upvoting?

I feel it’s all about intention, is the comment for the benefit of you or for the greater benefit of the person who posted the content?

I care about you and this community, it's the feelings we get at the end of the day which will decide the future of this platform.


Thank you for reading this post because I hope it is helpful for you when considering commenting and upvoting.

If you think this is a helpful post for Steemit users, would you please upvote this because it will help me share more insights to success and meaning for all Steemers.😋

All my hopes and dreams.

Sort:  

Upvotes are at the discretion of each person and may or may not be applicable given how you feel about the post. I think it's fine to comment without upvoting if that's how you feel. I also think it's fine to upvote with commenting. Each situation is different.

I feel you, great post, I will definitely upvote & resteem, thanks.

Thanks for the re-steem, it's much appreciated.

Leave a relevant comment sure, I don't get why they don't upvote. But I don't have to upvote their relevant comment either ;)

That's what I do there are two people that never up vote me but comment it makes me feel like my steem wasn't worth it, even if I can only give a penny I up vote everything I like and comment

If it's a post that I strongly disagree with I might intentionally comment without up-voting. Usually I just forget (noob)!

Hi i just upvoted ur post, u just nailed the whole stuff hope u do follow me

I think both your thoughts are about right as any comment should be muatually beneficial for the content creator and you as the curator. Great post, thanks for sharing your thoughts on commenting.