Reporting back from rAge...

in #steemit7 years ago

This is another moment that I have to just say how much I "love" my country. I returned home from rAge on Sunday to a home without electricity. Seems some parts were stolen at the substation, including damage to transformers. So here is my slightly delayed report back from rAge...

20171006_164105.jpg

Promoting Steemit... Hiccups

The weekend did not get off to a great start as Friday and early Saturday I was completely unable to Log into my Steemit profile. So I was unable to show anyone what Steemit looks like, at first...

The second problem came when I realised that the internal DC network that is usually available would not be this year because of some shenanigans that happened last year. This forced me to go to plan B...

Page seperator2.PNG

A smoke break.

Finally, on Saturday I was able to log into my account and I immediately showed the people around me what the site was all about. I was initially met with scepticism, but someone did take the bait. After spending a few minutes showing him some of the profiles on here, I did convince him to sign up. He then started speaking quite intently with his friend... (Guy in yellow)

20171006_130408.jpg

After that, I did not really know how to start walking up to random people, I am not the most social person. So I went for a cigarette and recognised some faces from the previous years. Seems I am not the only one struggling to kick the habit. Speaking to them came very easily and soon I had a few people listening to me speak about Steemit. I was not surprised to hear that they all knew about Block-chain technology, so interest was high. After that, I started to notice from my seat on the top balcony, that a few monitors were awake with the familiar glow of the Steemit welcome page. My phone sucks so the photos are not great, but my view from the top. I have a video that shows it better, I will try upload it tonight...

20171006_222224.jpg

rAge offering.

There was a lot to be seen at rAge and I will be posting more of it this week, from expo floor to eSports stage.

Signature.PNG

Sort:  

Nice my man. Good on you for spreading the word!

Sucks about DC++ though ( I assume it was DC++ )

Upvoted

Yeah it would have been. I am extra upset because I could not leech...

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo