Market Snapshot - May 18th 2018

in #steemit6 years ago

Top 10 Cryptos

At the moment of writing top 10 assets were bearish, with one of them, IOTA, even posting double digit losses.


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.29.46 AM.png


Bitcoin is still holding on above $8,000 but the bear pressure seems higher this time. It's gonna be an interesting weekend.

STEEM And SBD

At the moment of writing, STEEM was trading, on average, at $2.74 on Coinmarketcap, slightly down from yesterday.

The 1 hour chart shows sideways trading in the 33k - 36k satoshis corridor


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.30.06 AM.png


The 1 day chart shows the price didn't move much during the last 3 days


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.30.13 AM.png


SBD was trading, at the moment of writing, at $2.22 on average, slightly down from yesterday.

The 1 hour chart shows a slight downtrend, with 26k satoshis being the new resistance.


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.30.35 AM.png


The 1 day chart shows that SBD is still looking bearish, still needing to shave at least $1.2 until it reaches the peg


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.30.43 AM.png


SBD to STEEM Ratio

At the moment of writing, according to steem.supply, for 1 SBD you get 0.801 STEEM, down from yesterday and below parity


Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 10.29.28 AM.png


Overall opinion: Markets seem very undecided and the much expected Consensus conference didn't bring the predicted spike. It's still early, though, and the effects of that event may still unfold a bit later. The decoupling between STEEM and SBD continues.

Disclaimer: I'm not a trader and this is not trading advice. I'm writing these articles for my own educational purposes and they are not meant as an investment foundation. Please make your own due diligences when investing and never invest more than you can afford to lose.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Bear trend keeps in place. Bitcoin has punched the $8000 level and it may reach the $7800 support line and if that line does not stop the trend, we might see the price reaching the $6500 level again.

Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 09.04.56.png

EOS has reached the 62% retracement Fibonacci line from the previous uptrend on the daily chart. Markets seem to be in little trading range showing indecision and deciding if bulls will push up or bears will continue to move further down.

Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 09.06.34.png

Finally, STEEM seems to be stabilized around the 34K satoshi. But the price could be approaching the 32K line again

Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 09.07.21.png

As bitcoin price keeps going down the STEEM/USD chart shows downtrend still in place with a support on the $2,55 level. The 4hr chart shows some dojis and that could be an indicator of reversal.

Screen Shot 2018-05-18 at 09.15.56.png

I looks like it's gonna be a rough weekend.

Red times incomming! :)
Good. We can buy moar!

That's the spirit!

EOS dropped to 12$,
The market situation is not understandable.
I never expected this dip.
but hopping for good,

Thanks for the update friend, market is still yet to stabilize, hopefully next week

I don’t seem to have a hold of what’s really happening anymore. I thought the recent eventful days would fear things up. Maybe not yet. I’ll just hang on and wait

if bitcoin goes to $6500, it really great chance to buy some.

Thanks for the update man
Looks like rough days ahead but we’d survive
Yes we will

The coming hours will be very important for steem as we are closely following the BTC and that the BTC pattern is less positive...

All the price of crypto coins getting down.So I think it's best time to buy btc,steem,sbd.

Bearish markets on the line here. It's a matter of patience, we will get through this hopefully. The bad times are going to ens

Hi @dragosroua. I haven't exchanged SBD for Steem for a while now since I'd getting less than 1 Steem. What has to happen in order for me to get at least 1 Steem for my SBD? I thought it was to do with the gap between them but it doesn't seem to be that.

Steem and sbd holding hands tightly in this situation ;p

The updates you provide on cryptos are always extremely helpful and I appreciate. It helps me navigate through the crowded market