You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Didn't Sign Up For This - Shutting Down My Witness And Seed Nodes

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for the wishes.

It's funny how people always choose what to extract from what they're experiencing, based on their preconceptions. You clearly have a chord that was touched when I posted about downvoring being theft the other day and you chose to stick with it. In this announcement I'm saying that I'm not supporting a system which promotes arbitrary tilting of the rewards through a so-called experiment and which promotes abuse. Abuse through lack of communication, mostly. That's very different. And yet, you chose to see what you wanted to see.

The evolution of this platform from a place where downvoting wasn't even considered an option for determining the rewards and which was used to control spam, to a place where there's just random flagging over who's getting what, well, that should give you some clues about the direction of this project. You may of course choose again to follow that direction. I just chose not to.

There are so many other opportunities out there. I'm grateful for the experience, I learned a lot and I'm not ragequiting. Just witnessing human nature in all its (sometimes) ugliness. In this case the ugliness coming from greed.

Sort:  

I would counter that what is most visible in a statement is what is interesting to the reader. That's not such a strange thought. Your point was clearly restated here and didn't take much reading into if you are fair:

In plain English, to drive the rewards from the reward pool in the direction they find "correct", no matter what other previous voters think. Please stop for a while and ponder that: no matter what you voted, they came in and take out your vote.

I'm not sure what preconceptions you're referring to and I think my position is clear and unambiguous.

You may of course choose again to follow that direction. I just chose not to.

I choose to stick around and influence the direction. It's obvious that for you it has become intolerable at this point. It may do so for me too, I can easily see that happening, and I don't criticize you for that, especially considering the length of time you've put in and what you've seen.