You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Idea for creating - Steem.it Premium!- This Steemien's response to spam, plagiarism, vote-begging and follow-digging.

in #steemit7 years ago

First off let me start by saying I agree with you that some things most surely should be changed. With that said, I am most definitely a newbie - about a week now, and will proudly say I am one of the "follow diggers" mentioned in your title. I figured out almost immediately that the odds of having a post noticed through all the noise was almost nill. My logic is to gather a following, then promote my writing directly. The fact is, and I have said this in another comment, it is almost impossible to filter through all the spam to get to quality content - not sure if my writing will qualify as "quality" but i'm trying, and I guess time will tell... I don't believe the "pay to play" approach is the best way forward and could possibly lead to the death of the platform. A simpler, straight forward approach would be to dramatically reduce the use of bots, and to make the curation rewards a higher percentage of the overall pot than what is currently allocated - (currently there is very little incentive for anyone to spend time sorting through it all and actually curating) the quality would dramatically increase almost immediately... Just my opinion - and as I always say "Your gonna have to make up your own dam mind"... Steem On... :)

Sort:  

Thank you @drdave. This is a very thoughtful reply. I should qualify that most of the spam is simply "Follow me and I'll follow you," With out the poster reading the content, This certainly is not the case with you.
As a newbie, Welcome. And here is the difference you I would upvote and follow because you bring value to the conversation. I hope you enjoy your Steem.it adventure.

Upvoted and followed.

H. G.

Thanks... I look forward to reading your future posts... Upvoted, Followed, Resteemed... Steem on...

Spot on, drdave. I said the same thing here.
(Past payout)

I read "The seed of self-upvoting....". You said it much better than I ever could - curation is the best way to ensure quality ... I would go as far as to create something similar to the "witnesses" for the sole purpose of "curating" posts. Make it broad enough to prevent cliques from forming, and specific enough to eliminate all the "noise"... Details Coming Soon...