Steemit editor disappearing act

in #steemit7 years ago

So in regards to adding links to external sources/tutorials/cat photos etc in a steemit post, I noticed today that there's an Editor link on the right hand side of the submit.html page (albeit a faint grey and easily overlooked).

Problem is, as I'm writing this, that mysterious Editor link doesn't appear where it was before, or at all. So if there's a way to add external links in a post, that opens a new window, I still don't know, because the Editor link has vanished.

Could this be because 7 of my processors are currently plotting a hard drive to mine burst coin, and the Editor link is just a little too hard for my pc to load, or does the Editor link come and go as it pleases?

And not to be too bitchy, but is it just me, or, should the Editor link (when it appears), not be on the left side of the page, under the title field, rather than hard right on the page, causing all users to first move their hand right with the mouse to open the editor, and then move their hand back to the left, to write their title and begin typing their article body content. Because if millions of people are using the Editor link, that's a shit-ton of wrist movement being wasted. Can anyone say "carpal tunnel".

Call me old school, and I know this platform is still under development, but it seems that there are still some rather fundamental issues to be sorted out, before wide-spread adoption becomes attractive. In the information age, where everyone is linked to everyone else, and their information, it makes absolutely no sense to link them away from the steemit platform to read an external article.

I hereby demand, with my tiny, insignificant voice, that either (a) the Editor link not disappear at random, AND include an "open in new window" functionality for external links, or (b) that the target="_blank" command be reinstated to it's rightful position in the new-speak cheat code.

I'm out.

10 June 2017