Good old bricks and bad new coins

in #steemit6 years ago

A guy I know purchased a prefabricated house.

He chose a house with 4 bedrooms from a catalog and those workers put the whole house together in maybe 15 days. But while they were working on it, the guy's neighbors gathered around and criticized the whole process. Mostly because they do not believe in that type of building. One of them was mocking and saying that the real house can't be built with no good old bricks.


GIF SOURCE


This "good old" is probably something that makes people safe.

Opposite of "good old" would be "bad new", so how to make a step into future if we already judged "new" as "bad".
However, the house was finished on the time, those workers were real professionals and the guy's been living there with his family already for three years.
The object is a low-energy house with sustainable design and the guy pays much less for heating and electricity than any of his mocking neighbors. But they still didn't stop with mocking.


This situation reminds me on how I tried to convince some people to enter the world of cryptocurrencies.

I was always trying to choose the right people to speak about that. People who I think that they would understand this right way. Possible investors, or those who I believed that they could write something interesting on Steemit. Many of you will agree that making a Steemit account is a perfect way to enter the world of cryptocurrencies. You can find anything here, great tutorials, predictions, advice, news... It's not that you have to believe to all you read here, but you could find it useful.

So I wanted to share this with people with interesting knowledge and I really expected better reaction.

Last person I picked for that was a programmer and graphic designer with a lot of experience who recently lost his job, and I thought that he will say something like: "This is really awesome", but instead of that I got: "This is not real money, it seems like wasting of time". I was stubborn enough to show him my Steemit account and what I made here. He said that he will create an account when he'll have some time. But he wastes all that time as unemployed person by playing games and getting high all days.
I was more eager about "spreading the word" when I started on Steemit. The most of answers that I was getting were like: "That's nothing but scam", "You will not see a dollar from that network", or "Leave that place before they ask you to invest".


A few days before I saw the guy that I tried to convince to join Steemit more than a year ago.

He told me that he noticed that I got new car. "Yes", I said: "I cashed out some of my coins at ten times bigger price than when I invested". The guy said that he will really inform himself about "those coins".
I saw the guy three weeks later and it was one of the worst days on the market. The price of Bitcoin just went below 10 000$. The guy said: "I was checking some of those coins today! It seems that everything is falling down and I am glad that I never made that step". OK, the guy totally ignored that I have a new car thanks to one of "those coins".


I brought many people on Steemit that I am proud off but some of them were complainers and quitters.

Well, you can't expect to get rich over night on Steemit. It takes much more than one good post to be noticed by others. And never complain if you get 0.50$ reward on your post, because without that post you would have 0.50$ less.

So I decided to build a prefabricated house myself! And I know that all my neighbors will gather around to say what a fool I am. Because the bricks will always be "good old". But that doesn't have to mean that something new can't be even better.


Thank you!!!

logo

Sort:  

Thanks, very good post !!!!

Awesome Work!

Keep it up!!!

@cryptoinvestinfo

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 7 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Well, people who are stuck to "good old" will one day be run over by the new. Progress has always been a scary thing for those not willing to change and keep up, we cant make them, and why should we anyway? History has thought us that new always wins.
Great post this one, thank you for sharing us with us.

Thank you!

Well said. You can only encourage someone so much. Even when you lead by example, like getting a new car, people will not try new things. Afraid to take a chance, even if they have nothing to lose.

Hey I hear ya I was and still am not on board the crypto train... too many problems with the exchanges and the govt waiting to step in ... yet the bankers were able to trade it with their futures contracts and mess with it... ill stick to the good ole reality about the asset backed global trade being able to put gold back behind trade and end this fiat malarky... great post!

My mind has been exposed by your writing @dumar022! thank you for sharing and glad to meet you my friend ...

Excellent story ..I always read your blog. Thanks dear sharing this news..

Good point...Too many old fashioned conservative individuals!

This is a great lesson. I have brought a few people that quit as well. On guy actually has 2 posts get close to a 100 dollars?!?!?