They all want us to use their #hashtags

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the world of #hashtags!

In the year 2018 population of Steemit has heavily increased. Humans and bots started bloody war all over the network and Steemit became a large battlefield. Humans started regrouping in self-supporting fractions building their fortresses and castles well guarded by heavily armed soldiers. And they had to "wear" the hashtag of the fraction they belonged to...


IMAGE SOURCE


This is not that story, Terminator is a little bit old school and it is already 2018, so there is no need to go further into science fiction but there is a lot of truth in my little intro.

An average Steemer can't make it here alone.

OK, I'm wrong, there are guys that really did it. I don't talk about those those who have uncle witness or some other nepotistic connection. A year ago it was easier to make it by yourself but now... you have to be a member of some sub-community. That resulted with a numerous fractions, groups, trails, guilds and they all are about nationalities, languages and rarely about the topics of the posts.

So if you are member of some of those groups, you will probably get their upvote - but only if you use their hashtag!

They say that it would be easier to find your post if you use the damn hashtag!

So, an ambitious Steemer has to be a part of at least 3 of those sub-communities. Then you write down those 3 hashtags as a proof that you support those groups. I love to use #whalepower tag that belongs to my friend @bullionstackers but more to support his program than to get something from them. So I'll always use that tag no matter what, #whalepower is here for a long time and they keep up to very good job. I often use #busy tag, I have a lot of followers so that adds some extra sugar to my reward. And I have my own #whysoserious tag because I prefer (how to say...?!) relaxed posting! ;)


So when I write down all those tags, I don't have any place left to write those tags that actually say what is my post about. My post is about (#) life, (#) music, it's a little bit (#) funny, there are few things about (#) Steemit or my (#) hometown. But of all these tags, I have room maybe for one or two.
So, you want find a good read to start the day and you would like to read about... and you find 7 posts under that tag in the last 5 hours. But you are sure that there is a lot more of those posts somewhere around. But they were suffocated by the wrong #hashtags.


IMAGE SOURCE

Almost all of your Discord groups will ask you to use their #hashtags so they can easier find your post and give you their upvotes.


But there are much simpler ways to do that, without suffocating #hashtags.

Steemsearch is a great tool (but at the moment "Offline for maintenance") for searching Steemit posts by words in the title, rewards, length... Maybe instead of forcing users to use their #hashtags, the leaders of these groups should ask their members to use some code in the title or similar. With Steemsearch (when it works) you have a lot of options.
Or devs should give us more room for tags to us so we can describe what our posts are about!


Thank you!

logo

Sort:  

I creates #whalepower Tag, I read the Articles of the author's.
Find anything Fancy?

Reading is the most fancy here! When i tag #whalepower, then I know that someone will read it

I have my reason upvotes comment these days.

I couldn't agree more on this

Thank you! :)

Ooo very cute post thank for share

I agree your post.

back before, steemit used more than five tags?
Can we put back that?

and yeah, steem search is offline, but I prefer to check those post under such hashtag which is easier for most of us

No, it was always 5 tags.
As I said, people don't use tags anymore to describe their posts. They use it to show where they belong. Thanks for the comment

I didn't know that, thank you

I see categories and hashtags separated in the future. I know it would take up a lot of work to make something like that happen, but a person could dream :) Thanks for sharing this.

Thanks :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 31 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

The more people join Steemit the more discipline we need :)
Thank you for sharing this information. I didnt understand why some people use certain hashtags, but i got a better idea. Good work!

Thank you for the comment

We are not alone but sometimes I wonder how much the tag matter. To curator it's important to make it easy to follow on the post of course.

I have my own tags so I can find my own posts more easily because I tend to clog my blog with reblogging. I've seen a new steemir pick one of my tags up and I'm actually quite sad I have so little steem power that I can only give him two cents but I support him regularly. And I found a new budding community of great creative women and I love that they all use the same tag. The community is small and you can't profit much off of it because it puts quality over quantity or nationality.

Pretty much on my own. Only use tags that are appropriate. Busy my biggest pay back. Try to find people of same interest.

It's a faulty of all people who tell minnows like myself to use all 5 tags to get noticed, when in reality it just destroyed tag related posts xD

Good job bro !

That is why we have to choose where do we want to belong, we can't sit on 5 chairs at the same time :)
Resteemed

Wow super clanak. Uzivali smo citajuci.
Pozdrav iz Splita!