EXPOSING "@KARLTAYLOR" - IDENTITY THIEF - PLAGIARIST - SCAMMER AND ALL AROUND DOUCHE

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Toss these DICKHEAD's a couple BIG ASS FLAGS -
Teach'em a lesson!


https://steemit.com/@karltaylor


For the last few months this guy has been on my radar. My suspicions started small. Stuff just didn't add up. The wording of comments / posts. I watched The real Karl Taylors youtube videos. Got an idea about his cadence and vocabulary. Then I checked out more of the content here on steemit. It was as if it were two completely different people... because it was. I have reached out to this person and asked them to prove they were in-fact the real Karl Taylor and I have even flagged them and submitted the flag to @steemflagrewards. His response is below.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 12.13.40 PM.png

Although my suspicions where there In the beginning I let it go. Then about a month ago things got serious..... Not really but kinda..... I got a notification that I had been mentioned in a post while on Busy.org when I checked it out it was actually some one stealing the written content from my DTUBE introduction video. When I looked at the account it was a somewhat "famous" youtuber..... Hmmmmm thats odd.


https://steemit.com/@fubaki0651

All the right links for facebook / youtube and twitter on the steemit page / at the bottom of posts..... Why would this guy steal some shitty text from one of my posts. So I tossed a flag on it and called them out in the comments. When I looked at the wallet of that account....... Guess who I saw getting SBD and STEEM transfers..... KARL TAYLOR...... Another famous Youtuber/ photographer...... Who I'm already suspicious of...... Who follows me on steemit........ Ya don't say?!?!?!? - After doing some more wallet digging and posts scavenging I noticed a ring of accounts all supporting @karltaylor.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 11.48.24 AM.png

Here's me taking to the photographer on twitter - I was using voice to text on my phone and it missed the word "Rewards"

Karl Taylor - or a member of his team have confirmed that they are not operating a page on steemit / dtube channel and would like help taking back control of their content. I'm now calling on whales / investors - Anyone with more Steempower than me & users who care about keeping content honest and original...... If you value the platform you have worked hard to build - flag this douche bag / the associated accounts into oblivion..... or near to it.


Accounts involved


@karltaylor
@fubaki0651
@walletid
@shreeshfluteiots
@youtubeworld
@suraj0651 - ring leader?

If you appear in this list and are not involved please state your case below. The truth is I probably wont believe you.

Sort:  

I was looking into this as well and waiting for a response from him on Twitter, just to make sure but they are all on our blacklist now.

It took Karl about a day or two to get back to me initially - Thank you for taking the time to look into it / for the support - The guys a dink (whoever is running the ring) - Your efforts and response here are why I voted for you as witness. Keep making steemit a better place dude!

I've flagged his latest posts. I don't know if we can do much about people taking names of well known vloggers and others. The real people can verify their Steemit accounts by linking from elsewhere.

Thanks for helping. His latest posts kills me. He's also trying to bury it under a crazy amount of resteems .Yeah i know there's nothing that can really be done to protect people from doing this kind of stuff - other than us discouraging them form doing it by using our flags.

This is where we need flagging bots to deal with known fakers as they may try to keep milking it. I hope he gets blacklisted from buying any votes

Sorry it took me a while to get back to you - crazy busy. Yeah I agree - flagging bots are like hired guns - are there any right now? Markymark added the accounts I listed to buildawhales blacklist. I noticed they also use a few others - would you suggest reaching out to the owners?

It's worth a try, but some just seem concerned with profits

i just posted an update - in pat of it I asked a few of the bots/ owners they sent money to have them blacklisted. Also added a few names to the shit circle!

Blacklists help, but some will just create more accounts. We have to stay vigilant

Good work... detective!

Thanks man. I wonder what response whoever is in control is going to come up with.

Me Tarzan... that was unexpected!

I knew his response was going to be good - But that was next level.

Thank you for this fine bit of sleuthing.

One does sometimes wonder how Steemit could react if the real Karl Taylor got a court order to remove the fake one from Steemit. Ignore or hardfork, are there any other options?

No problem at all - just trying to keep things as honest as they can be around here. Yeah I was apprehensive about bringing this to him at first because I didn't know what negative affects it could have for us - forgive my ignorance - when you say Hardfork - how would that apply - like there would be a new version void of the offending content?

It could well be the only way to remove a user(name) and the associated content without deleting all existing nodes and copies of the whole blockchain.

I never put much thought into what goes on behind the scenes. Been doing lots of reading today about the mechanics of the system. regardless of how this stuff is handled now - we need a more efficient way of fixing things.

good work, detective.

IMO there needs to be a far more efficient process of guillotining these scammers than relying on whales to 'be nice' and 'helpful'.

Thanks bro. totally agree there needs to be adjustments.

Good looking out!!! People are just plain nuts thinking they won’t get caught doing crap like this!!

Thanks dude! I know right. This is where my love for researching comes in handy. Literally screamed out " got'em" when the final piece of the puzzle fell into place.

It's really interesting. You've done some digging and received avoidance and opposition as a reaction - 😨. It just confirms suspicions. Digging into professional associations, universities, conference managers, publishers and so on and then conducting a video call interview cleared up suspicions in a case we recently had. Eventually, with famous personalities, some verificationon the steemit blog 'about me' section, is useful. Many writers and others don't like nor do they use Facebook anymore (and that verificaton can be faked anyway). Twitter is good, but hard to get done. We rested with AirBnB - it requires credit card, email, phone number, identity, and selfie to match the gvernment ID. If the person then goes on to actually use the AirBnB identity, gradually a fec-to-face reputation is built up each time his identity is checked when he books into a BnB.

I'm actually finding more connected accounts. I'll update the list soon. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts / experiences.