You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Happened to the Dolphins?

in #steemit6 years ago

My feed dies a little every week. It is my own fault for not going out and adding new people in. This place does tend to chew and spit people out. They hit the wall of trying post x amount of times per day or week and its game over.

While there is a need for a bigger middleclass right now we just need people not so depressed. Many seem to have given up and taking their few cents with them.

I don’t even want think how many people you have grown up with here that are no longer around. Just a little minnow like myself I’ve lost so many in just over the year I been here.

I use to have such fun times laughing the night away and helping people. Almost all long gone. No more having a friend dropping into a few month old blog of mine and just leaving me some friendly comments to say high as we have a conversion about what ever. No more chatting to the point we don’t notice we are not even in one of each other’s blogs and some poor guy now has 10-20 comments that are 100% not related or even towards that person.

Just lots of busy people left trying and hoping to make it past this storm.

I still have a few places where I try and have a laugh and a good time. They just seem to be harder to find. Many places I use to stalk for leaving comments on are now just cobwebs.

I just think its a great time to try and build something right now. When the masses return because of price and not passion they will see what they have missed out on. Blame the system for not loving them anymore for leaving and leave again.

Sort:  

I just blame summer for it.

I was expecting spring and summer to be lower points than the rest of the year. I could just tell people could not wait to get outside of their homes and go on an adventure. I even took the opportunity to do a little bit of rebranding of myself and further focused on more of one kind of content over another.

This week, in particular, many are on vacation it seems. Even then they still are logging in to make quick updates. Share a photo or two and even more. When it comes to something like this people tend not go cold turkey for 2 weeks or months. They just reduce the number of hours they spend on the site. A lot less commenting and other stuff and just shorter life posts.

I have noticed a trend for a while now and it started before even spring. Someone would go missing for weeks or months on end. They would come back. I’d try and welcome them back (I understand life gets in the way and you got to do what you must.) They will make a post or two. Then a rant amount things not going as they imagined it would be. They disappear again and maybe come back a few more times. After a while, for some, I stop opening my arms wide to give them a welcome back hug.

Many times when someone goes missing for a while almost no one even notices. I try and somewhat be a caring person and leave them a comment. Sometimes someone is just struggling and really just needed that little push to get back into the swing of things. With many after posting for a year sometimes a few times a day they just ran out of ideas finally. That never too hard to fix I just have to point to some trend or content and they now have something to write about again. Other times I’ll just tell them to go out and comment for a few days. That best way to break any writer's block.

I tend to be the last comment on a few peoples old blogs. Many were like a friend to me after all. If I went missing I would hope someone would do the same. Having those kinds of people in your life here makes a big difference. Far too many try and go it alone.

Even in the few months I’ve been here I’ve seen a decrease. Hoping it’s just “summer”

hi @enjar

let's be friends...like 4 like ?