Can Anarcho-Capitalism Create a Peaceful World? (A Steemit Experiment)

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit experiment.png
The Steemit environment is basically an experiment in anarcho-capitalism. The developers and many of the members of the steemit community are like most crypto-currency enthusiasts anarcho-capitalist minded.
Anarcho-Capitalists believe that the Free Market alone, if it is not interfered by outside rules, will be able to create a decent human society where everybody gets a fair share of the rewards according to the effort, the personal investment and the talent he or she contributes to society.
I have my serious doubts about that.
To be sure I seriously doubt all other economic or political theories as well, most particularly the one @corbettreport calls "statism".

After I realized that 9/11 was an inside job by people closely connected to the Bush government, the CIA and the Pentagon while all western governments and the whole of the mainstream media were covering it up, I lost all trust in our political system and the nation states.
But I still believe in democracy, a direct democracy on a local, very small scale. I believe that any centralized power be it political or economic is dangerous and will eventually lead to massive suffering within the vast majority of people.

As for capitalism let me rephrase Chesterton an early 20. century philosopher and novelist, the author of the "Father Brown" books: "I do believe in capitalism, I just think there are far to few capitalists."
In Chesterton's view everyone should be an owner of significant capital and of some means of production(a workshop, or tools or a piece of land).

I see it similarly, it isn't the private ownership of capital which is the problem, but the distribution of power in far too few hands, be this power manifested in a political party, in fascist groups or in corporate conglomerates.
Today it is the giant difference of wealth distribution in our neo-liberal economies which still leads to the enormous evils of war, torture, oppression and starvation, since in our age the owners of enormous wealth have near absolute control over the policies of most governments on the planet.
They will do everything to keep and enhance their positions of power including the above mentioned evils as well as the suppression of dissent by different means.

The anarcho-capitalist steemit environment mirrors the neo-liberal real world economy pretty good. Just like in the real world in steemit there is also a vast the wealth disparity connected to a vast power disparity.
Now the question is, can the steemit community act within the anarcho-capitalist system and still produce some kind of ethical outcome.

And this is where my experiment comes in.
In every given population at least 95% want to live in peace and not in a war-zone, and they want the same for all other innocent people as well. The other 5% are either heavily invested into the world-wide military-industrial-complex or they are psychopaths or both.
Ordinary people only support war when they are manipulated into fearing the supposed enemies or hating them for a supposed atrocity, an unforgivable evil committed against them or other innocents.

However war and militarism bring enormous profits into the coffers of the already rich, and they increase the powers of national governments and the corporate empire and of the super-rich individuals steering policies of states. These increased powers can be used against the whole population.
Therefore in the neo-liberal system wars will go on forever and military spending will constantly increase. Dissent against this state of affairs will be minimized or even repressed altogether by the power the rich controllers of the system have over the main-stream media. This repression will be far less expressed in open censorship and far more often in all the distractions of entertainment.
The population is being lured into all kind of trivial pursuits, so they won't have time to reflect on what is really happening in the world.

I'm quite certain that steemians like all other populations prefer peace to war for themselves and for others.
However, in my experience it seems quite unlikely that in our anarcho-capitalist environment many users will express these preferences or put any actual creative efforts in these expressions.
Why not?
Quite simply, because anti-war and anti-militarism posts will never get any worth-while rewards, since they do not correspond with the interests of those who hold the monetary power here or elsewhere. Therefor an anti-war movement could in all probability never get off the ground here on steemit.

But I'm ready to have me proven wrong.
I will start to work within the system using every tool possible to get a peace-movement here on steemit going. These will be tools like self-promotions, self-upvotes, buying upvotes and possibly restreems as well. With the help of others I might even be able to educate myself further in what more tools are available and how to use them.
I will also organize contests for anti-war content where I will pay moderately high rewards(maybe 10 Steem or so) to the winning participants while upvoting and restreeming all others.
I will try to get sponsors on the steemit radio shows and other larger influential entities.
All this I will do until I run out of Steem and SBDs.
Once this happens and nothing has come out of it - as being myself the forever pessimist, that is exactly what I suspect, I can go back with my findings to James Corbett in good conscience and to all the other voluntarists, whom I really like and admire for their work in the truth movement.
I can go to them and tell them that anarchy and voluntarism doesn't work within a capitalist system, if you at the same time want to have a somewhat decent society.
If you want a truly ethical community where people can live in peace with one another and the rest of the world, you would need a non-capitalist economic system.
But once again, dear steemians, I'm open to have me proven wrong.

And here is my own first contribution to the cause I have posted on DTube, my 9/11 rap:
https://dtube.video/v/evehuman/088xgt91

If it doesn't load, and you are still interested, you can also watch it on my youtube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_PnVRlgYpFwuxlY6TLEsIA

Sort:  

what is this?
Anarchy Christmas?
Thanks for the comment, I do like old pictures

Sounds like a good idea. New follower here. Most of my posts and podcast episodes are on foreign policy and war. I'm as anti-war was Scott Horton. Give me a follow if you want to check out my content.

That's very good. I will check out your content.

Crypto and being pro-peace go hand in hand. The current financial system is based on force, or rather military oppression for the purpose of sustaining State power over the people for the benefit of few.

I fully agree that the current financial system is based on force and sustains state power.

Congratulations @evehuman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. I will be following you.

thank you so much
and you are also invited to the first challenge, I would be so happy to hear from you

Great write up.

You have my follow and upvote :)

You sure write from the soul. Well am looking forward to the plan at hand and I believe you will get excellent result. Remember to be optimistic always. Thanks for sharing.