Sort:  

I have only used three. My 4th will be ats-david.

But the people who are in top 20 witnesses aren't new to crypto. I've gotten impression that majority comes from bitshares and shares the views that are common in the whole cryptofield. Regular average Joe haven't had any clue or known even a need for crypto, but these guys have been in the space for many years.

How many witnesses have you voted for? I could use my open slots if you have good suggestions.

I assigned my witness proxy to a guy who I've followed for some time. He's convinced me (from reading his blog over time) that he knows his stuff and his interests are similar to mine. He posts a 'witness report' once or twice a month to inform us what he has done with his witness(node). Much of it is technical and I don't understand it.

And that's the POINT. I don't want to spend a 'bunchatime' learning all the technical stuff dealing with the inner working parts of the blockchain. I'm not a Geek. I'm a user.
SO...I assigned him my witness proxy. I watch HIM...rather than 30 others.

If you are interested in doing the same you can.
Pick any witness and assign him your proxy.
(you can retract it at any time)
the guy I assigned mine to is @dragosroua

Ah, I see. I'll have to consider that. I'll take a look at this guy even though we smaller accounts have a very little say in top 20 witnesses.

well that's the thing...if eleventy seven 'smaller accounts' delegate their witness proxy to one guy.....do the math.

All the minnows and dolphins could unite, yet the 1% decide the witnesses. The distribution is that bad over here. And the distribution, funnily enough, is just getting worse over time rather than better. Steemit is far from perfect, even without ads.