A worrying trend on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

(image source: ionleap.com)

Ok so I've not been a Steemion for long but there's a trend I've seen on the rise that, I believe, could undermine the beauty of Steemit.

There are a number of videos and posts out there that are promoting the creation of upvote circles - a group of people following a unique tag and focussing their resources on upvoting each other's posts, regardless of any interest in the post's content or the quality of the post.

This, in my humble and potentially ignorant opinion, defeats the purpose of Steemit. I see Steemit as a place people can come to find content they find engaging and want to get involved with as well as write posts on what interests them whilst earning rewards. Could there truly be a better thing than getting paid for engaging in conversation about the things you love in life?
I fear that if more and more people become involved with purely upvoting each other for the sake of easy money then there will be less upvotes for those who have made engaging and well written posts and deserve the acknowledgement.

I don't know what your thoughts are or if I've missed the mark here. Let me know in the comments ☺️ .

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. I've been talking about similar problems with people. There's been a lot of spamming, asking for up votes and attempts to work the system. This means that good quality content from new Steemians gets lost in all the noise of a mass of low quality posts, produced in the hope of making a quick buck. Excellent post @ezmonator. This sort of attitude is what will make you an awesome Steemian.

Thanks @looksfarwoman. I just hope as Steemit gains more members that these kinds of schemes will get drowned out by a majority that focuses on good, interesting content.

Hear hear @ezmonator. Remember, the platform is still in beta, so these problems will, hopefully diminish with time. @originalworks