Sort:  

if you're gonna bother doing this, you're really looking at a websockets / tcp / json / protobuf type solution. long polling basically means you poll with a complete HTTP call each time, except without closing the connection. Stay away. websockets are cake for golang, dart, etc. though. It's practically native. what I did for delphi would best be described as torturous by comparison!

https://github.com/gorilla/websocket

There are a number of libs for websockets in go. I will start looking into them and choose one or another.

I'm also totally interested in any excuse to use grpc-web, cause..... I mean.... it's grpc-web, eh?

grpc-web is almost exactly what I just described to you, though ironically it could add more complexity (because it's an extra framework that imposes the framework's way of doing things on you), but it should probably do everything we just talked about as well lol

http://www.grpc.io/blog/pubsub

or maybe not quite, since I just found this too:
https://github.com/tmc/grpc-websocket-proxy

Well, I've surely been looking for an excuse to put it to work. Are you also in the beta?

the beta of grpc? nah, just looked it up after you mentioned. I tend to build my own stuff from lower-level pieces (like the websocket interface on my github, that links directly to zlib to handle inflate/deflate, etc). Probably a bit too low level for most people's taste. lol

But it does give you a certain level of control over some things that you may lose otherwise. As always, depends on the usage case and what you're trying to accomplish.

Goal:

Make it absolutley, utterly, 100% easy AF for people to build front end systems that connect to the steem blockchain, whose github repository I am banned from

....cause.... "reasons!"

Cause "promises" is a better way to say it.

@originalfuzzy are you saying I am banned from steemit's github because I haven't been able to finish what you hired me to do?

Or are you just making idle conjecture?

....and why do you think ingestron exists?

It exists because the current interfaces are hostile to the creation of applications like the one you want built. So I built a new API for steem.