My top 10 tips for steemit success!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steem.png

Starting out on steemit can seem very daunting at first and can take a little while to find the ropes. I've nearly been on steemit for a month now and though it would be a good idea to give 10 tips to newcomers to steemit to help them out, and maybe even those of you who are established steemians will find some good information in this. If you found this post useful feel free to upvote it and if you have any questions once you are done reading, please leave a comment and I'll make sure to reply. So without further ado, let's get into the tips. These are in no particular order.

1. Comment on posts

Commenting is something that is severely undervalued here on the steemit platform, especially with newer users. It is a great way to build up some steem power when you first start; leaving a good comment on someone else's lucrative posts could lead to quite a few upvotes, building up an extra bit of steem power over time. Steem power isn't the only benefit to leaving comments on people's posts. You will also be making a name for yourself in the community and building your followers, giving you more consistent upvotes on future posts. I have had a few people reply to a comment I've left on their post who have said that they checked out my blog after reading my comment, enjoyed my content and decided to follow me.

2. Upvote your comments

This second tip follows on from the first. Upvote all of your comments. It amazes me how many people do not take advantage of this. If you don't know, the comments section of each post are ordered by which has the most steem power assigned to it. Even if you don't have enough voting power to add any value to the comment, with the amount of people that I see who forget to do this, it will surely rank your comment higher, giving it more exposure and a higher chance of other people upvoting your comment too.

3. Upvote all replies on your posts

As well as upvoting your own comments, it is beneficial for you to upvote everyone who replies on your post. If people see that you are upvoting commenters, it will encourage them to interact with your posts more often, bringing in consistent upvotes and followers. Put simply, if you help someone by upvoting their comments, they will help you by upvoting your posts, a very friendly and great thing about the steemit community as a whole.

4. Take advantage of the 100% power up when you start

When you are writing your posts you have the 3 options on how you want the steem to be distributed to you when you get payed out. You can either decline the payout, split it 50/50 into steem power and steem dollars, or power up 100% by having all your rewards paid out in steem power. I recommend utilising the 100% power up when you are first starting on steem to build up your steem power to get a more powerful vote; this will definitely help with tip 2 and bump your comments up higher. If you opt to go 50/50, the steem dollars you receive take 3.5 days to convert to steem for you to power up into steem power, so why not just put all of your rewards straight into steem power instantly rather than having to wait.

5. Be consistent

I'm sure all of you have heard the saying "consistency is key to success" and this rings true to steemit. Post regular content to your blog, giving people a reason to follow you. If you just post randomly, with long gaps between posts, there is no incentive to follow you. I tend to make two posts a day, quite often making more, and very rarely doing less but I post every day, allowing me to have gained 64 followers to my blog in 27 days. You can also be consistent in the type of content you post. If you make a particular post and people enjoy it, if they see you post more of this content regularly on your blog, they are likely to follow you and give you more guaranteed upvotes on your posts.

6. Persevere

I know that it can be disheartening when you have spent a large amount of time crafting the perfect post and not see it reap the rewards that you feel it deserves. But as you keep posting you will see that the amount you earn for each post will steadily go up too, you just need to keep trying. It also helped lessen the feeling of disappointment by changing my mind set on steem. Many people agree that steem as a cryptocurrency is very undervalued and many are predicting steem to increase in price by 10 times in 10 months. Knowing this, I am now happy if my post even only makes a few cents, as I am confident in steemit and steem and do see the price increasing, meaning these posts will be worth more in the long run.

7. Make use of images

As you have probably noticed, this post is littered with images. The first benefit of using images is that they can get your post noticed. If you look at the majority of posts they have a picture attached to them; so an attention grabbing picture can grab the attention of people to click on the posts and see what it's about. Another reason for them are that make for more attractive posts and break up text. If I had posted this without any images it would just be massive chunks of text, nothing attractive to read.

8. Follow people who you know will make a lot from their posts

This can be an excellent way to get a bit of extra steem here and there. By upvoting their posts, you have the possibility to cash in on some of the curation rewards that the post pays out. Also, partnering this tip with commenting can be a great way to earn even more steem. If you upvote your comment you could be highly ranked in their posts. On top of this, some people on steemit who have large followings, such as @trevonjb and @jerrybanfield reward their fans by upvoting their comments with a lot of steem power. If you've been upvoted by these large content creators, and rank highly in the comments section, you can often expect a few more upvotes, increasing the value of that comment even more.

9. Make use of markdown styling

Formatting posts on steemit works by using markdown styling, a guide of which can be accessed from the posting page on steemit. It's a lot easier to learn how to use markdown than you think, this post itself just uses basic markdown to insert images and create headings but has a big impact. Becoming sufficient in markdown can make your posts seem more attractive and professional, and much more enticing for an upvote.

10. Have fun

Probably the most cliché of all the tips on this list but I still do think it is very important. You should be posting what you want to post and not have them dictated by what you think should be successful. Yes, this might give you the odd post that blows up every now and then but if you keep consistently posting what you enjoy, you will be followed by people who enjoy similar things to you, and these people are more likely to be guaranteed to upvote a lot more of your posts.

Thank you for reading this post if you have got this far. This sums up my top 10 tips for starting out on steemit. Hopefully this benefited you and you will be able to take some of these tips on board to grow your steemit account. If it was helpful please do upvote and resteem this post, also leave a comment, I'm going to be sure to follow my own advice and upvote all of you and I will try my best to reply to everyone.

Sort:  

Great tips! I'm going to start making use of the markdown styling in my blog posts now.

Take advantage. Hopefully they'll help you out.

Can you explain to me how to get pictures into posts and a thumbnail on your post as well please?

The thumbnail is always the top picture you have in the post. I made this post a few days ago that should explain everything to you.

Thank you so much fatboyjames. I really appreciate it.

No problem. Good luck to making some great posts in the future!

Thank you for the tips. Helpful for this format I am new to and not familiar with yet.

Glad to help.

thank you so much very very helpful

Glad to help. Best of luck to your future on steemit

Thanks for the tips.

Hopefully incorporating some of them will help you out in the future.

This is a great post @fatboyjames. I hope the new steemers will read it.

That's what it's here for

Such a helpful post. I've been on YouTube for some time now, and I'm excited to join Steemit as well. With that being said, the system is totally different, and I found it somewhat daunting at first. However, I think Steemit has a ton of potential, and I much prefer the setup to YouTube. Thanks again!

I'm sure you'll have a great time on here

So that is how you add a link in text! Thanks so much.

Glad you found something that helps you

Think I'll use it in the post I'm writing right now, in fact ;)

Awesome. Best of luck to you!

Hi, yes great tips thanks for posting them, I see even after letting us know to up vote our own posts that some reply's in here haven't, not saying they should just an observation :)

Yeah, it amazed me when I first noticed this. Such an easy way to get a little extra exposure for your blog

...thxs mate for all the helpful tips....

Glad to you think they'll help

Thanks for the info! its really great to join a community that actually helps each other out instead of negativity!! Very refreshing. Thanks again.

One of the many draws of steemit.

Very informative! Thank you for the tips!

You're welcome. Hopefully they'll be advantageous to you

Very right AND informative post for new Steemians and old steemians ! Upvote & resteem your post.

Thank you very much

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FatboyJames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I'm personally brand new(ish) to writing on steemit but still feel a little guilty about upvoting my own work (or comments)... Maybe that'll wear off before long ;)

You get 10 full power upvotes a day so spending one or two on yourself is understandable

Great tips, like anything i thing persistence is the biggest key!

Awesome practical and objective tips.
Thanks for sharing.

;-)

Super conseils pour débutant.
Nice for all.
Just doing

Nice tips, man. Many of them I used, but I will use more the thing of post settings.

Succes !

Good Tips, I learned some cool tricks. The markdown tip was just what I was looking for! Thanks for the info.

Glad you could find some use

I love your tips because I am a newbie. I am trying to learn the site and my goal is to learn it whole heartedly. Thanks for sharing those tips. I got lots of tips coming from you.

Great tips ! Thank yu for sharing !

Such good pointers for someone new to steemit. I keep hearing good things, and the community is so helpful. Thank you

This is too helpful ! Thanks !

Great tips ever! I like "Consistency is key to Success"

Great article, I only registered yesterday, this will really help