You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Vapor - A Steem App

in #steemit6 years ago

I was just talking to the developer about this after your comment. I think we're both in favor of open sourcing the project. Being a developer myself, one thing I've always dreamed of is paying developers to contribute to open source.

That said, I don't want to get ahead of ourselves. Getting the app built and out to the community is itself a large task, and I don't want myself and the developer to get overwhelmed by doing too much at once.

What I envision happening is, development, releasing the app, then open sourcing it after that for improvements and maintenance. At this point we'll look to pay developers for their pull requests in profits received from the app.

Sort:  

The utopian-io project is build on the idea of paying for open source contributions(see the utopian bot that has almost 4 million steem power), so you won't have any financial burden after you open source it. Anyways, good luck with the project, I look forward to seeing a first release!

I recently had a pull request accepted into the eosio repo. How would I submit something like this to utopian-io? I'd like to get a feel for the process before jumping head first into it with this mobile app.

Go to https://utopian.io/rules, check it out. You would need to write a post detailing your contribution. You could contact them on discord as well and get to know them better. My contribution to utopian has been limited to writing some tutorials

My contribution to utopian has been limited to writing some tutorials

It's amazing how useful that really is though. I do the same quite frequently.