Good and Bad Comments - Learn How To Earn Upvotes And Replies For Appropriate Interaction

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Writing comments is one of the best ways to earn Steem and find new followers on the Steem blockchain. However, many newcomers don't do it right and are ignored or even downvoted. Learn with me how I handle comments and become a much better community member.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great video @flauwy and you hit upon a topic rarely covered buy badly abused.

Of course, @ned made news for his $2K payout on a 5 sentence comment yet that is just the tip of the iceberg. I see so many who upvote themselves in the comment section yet do not upvote the post. What is interesting is rarely are the self upvoters of comments the ones leaving detailed, long, applicable comments. Those people usually post and let the community decide.

We really do need more attention given to this subject. I think you just inspired me to write a post about it....

Proper commenting and upvoting is really what separates those who are to be taken seriously from those who are not.

YOU are probably one of the most intense commentators on the entire blockchain. I see @abh12345's weekly analysis of the Stewards of Gondor and you are insanse with the length and frequency of comments - in a good way. How much time do you invest each day?

People are flocking to my posts because I am well known to upvote tons of comments every day. Not as high as @cryptoctopus but still more than the majority of all top Steemians. Of course that invites much spam but I see it as a game: Find the good and reward it, ignore the bad and punish the ugly. I think it works ok but it takes time for each user to get it.

Maybe the two of us should come up with an initiative to improve the situation particularly for newcomers. Right now I've got nothing but in a mutual creative process we could change the game for the entire blockchain. Combined with Utopian and they will call us king of comments for good reason soon enough!

I honestly do not know how much time I spend in here posting and commenting...but it is a fair bit.

Perhaps some would say I have no life... LOL

I look at it in the sense I am truly committed to this blockchain. One thing Reddit does have is there are a lot of commenters on there...or at least the ones that do comment leave valid ones.

One thing I noticed very quickly is that there were few comments on here. Most people fail to leave them. When each post averages 2.something comments apiece, that is horrific. Of course, part of the problem is the authors, themselves, do not reply.

I, too, upvote most of the comments. This attracts some attention although not all good. I have a core of people who are consistent, dedicated, and take time to read my stuff. However, like you, I get a ton of spam.

It is such a simple process...and many complain they cant write well enough to do articles...fair enough. But it does not take great writing skills to put together a few lines about an articles, especially if it is something that interests one.

I am game for that...hit me up on discord or steem.chat...I am same username on both although the discord is #9768

Alright, let's talk on Discord then!

Great job flauwy! Thanks for sharing... :)

Two ideas for you two, maybe it will help maybe not:

  1. Quora-like app, where the focus will be on more on comments than post.
  2. Extention of payment for a small percent of extraordinary good posts to more than 7 days. In that way, people will have more motivation to post here and be found on Google search 6 months for now and be paid for that than to have their own blog or site.
  1. Quora app is being developed for Steem already. I haven't used it yet and I am not very interested in that kind of software, personally. I never was. But I salute it and every addition to Steem is welcome!

  2. Very, very difficult to do. This goes beyond the Steem blockchain possibilities for now. it could be changed with a hardfork though! Something I have been complaining about since my first days on Steem. Maybe there IS a way to create a workaround for this. I have some ideas but it is complicated.

Of course that invites much spam but I see it as a game: Find the good and reward it, ignore the bad and punish the ugly. I think it works ok but it takes time for each user to get it.

I like this strategy. It’s a good way to try and filter out the useless spam. It’s sad when someone posts something, expecting to get actual feedback (good or bad) and they get a fake comment instead, which is usually in the form of a compliment.

That's what a system like Steem invites as many people strife to receive money in form of upvotes. It gives the illusion of a fake community. However, this is just one of many layers and within is hidden the greatest gem mankind has seen during the technological revolution!

I agree the potential is inspiring! I still feel there is a long way to go. ...but it's def on the right path and worth it!

Not to change the subject but i just wanted to ask if your username was inspired by the marvel comics anti-hero that goes by the same name. I assume not because you have a kitten as an avatar and he is a skull faced assasin that can almost instantly assess and duplicate someones fighting style and then use it against them.

Never heard of that character but it looks AWESOME!

Oh he is awsome. He is one of my favorites

Thank you for sharing this!

Alot of people will see your videos and rush to make a comment so you will upvote. (because it is know that you are generous)

When I see your videos I click the like button 1st (I know you are sharing something good!) Then I watch entire video or read entire article. - THEN I leave a comment sometimes.

I also do not reward spam or fake comments on my page.

Side note thanks for all the support, I appreciate you.

Thanks, I do appreciate when people are honest like you. I know that many come to my posts because they know I will upvote a lot of comments. I think that is the least I can do since Steemit works that way and I find it sad when authors don't interact with their readers. However, I DO select the good (upvote and reply) from the bad (ignore and sometimes lecture) and the ugly (downvote).

Just one criticism: You should probably read/watch my content first before you upvote. You probably don't like it and just upvoting my stuff because you think it MIGHT be good is just a waste of your voting power in cases where you might disagree with me. ;)

I have the power to "remove my vote" and I'm not afraid to use it! lol

When I joined Steem you where one of the 1st people I noticed. With every video I LEARN something rather I "agree or disagree" is irrelevant to me.

I come here to learn, as long as you continue to teach, you will have my upvote. 👊

I have the power to "remove my vote" and I'm not afraid to use it! lol

Well said! That possibility is always given and should be taken use of when required. However, you will loose the voting power and hence you can upvote less that day and you will have a small opportunity cost.

On the other hand with your strategy you are more likely to receive higher curation rewards because you upvote earlier. So there are two sides to the coin. :)

As an upvoter dont you make max curation money right after 30 minutes or have i understood that wrong?

Yes, before 30 minutes you get technically less curation rewards but even that depends on how much upvotes follow later. I can be still very profitable to upvote a mega post at 15 minutes or so because many others might do so between 15-30 minutes. It is complicated and confusing.

If I am understanding this correctly you are correct.

faq.png
source

[Even tho I’m using delegated steem power. Thanks to @motoengineer!] I usually wait to upvote my comment to see if it gets a comment or if anyone else will upvote it first. To give back.

Other times if there are a lot of comments but I think mine is somehow relevant (a bit egotistical maybe) I’ll upvote it right after I post it. Reason is: I’ve noticed that comments with more upvotes get sorted to the top (I think it’s a setting but I haven’t really looked into it. 😇)

General comment @flauwy: Thank you for more informational and interaction-inducing posts!

I appreciate your willingness to go in the open war with shallow comments.

I think that the issue is in the algorithm because it rewards mass production, not quality. Steemit has to find a way to gallantly reward exchange of thoughts and even confrontation or it will become a "plastic" hell far worse than it is Facebook today. And it will escalate quickly

Let's face it, the first Steemians are tech inclined people, not shallow, but can anyone imagine what it would be like one day when the majority of people from Facebook decides to come here. It will be mass production of nothingness in epic proportions and quality will be quickly overcrowded.

Thanks for the GREAT comment. I love the GIFs!

It is always the same: new users come and behave like zombies. This is a neverending story. But the community will regulate that by itself. I also made shitty comments in the beginning. It's a steep learning curve here on Steemit. You my friend will not have no problem to find freinds here. ;)

Thank you for your kind words. :)

Is thier a way i can resteem this and retitle it "How to be an absolute savage and eviscerate an entire comment section single handedly. "
Beautiful work sir.

haha, I am afraid you cannot resteem and change the title. Nice idea though. ;)

I love your comments by the way, they made my day. Keep it up!

I do what i can with what I've got. Thank you for noticing.

I notice most that is going on in my posts. And you are making a good impression recently!

Well thank you. I sm just trying to be me. I have only been here a month but it seems like there are an exorbitant amount of plastics and the bots really seem to take a lot of personality out of posts. I do love it here though. I told my father in law i was getting paid to be a smart ass. My perfect job. :)

There is a lot of room for smart asses here. :D

I learned something ,do not upvote yourself.
I'm still learning here.how do you change your percentage on upvoting?
Learning the hard way :)
best regards,
Toddjr.

Hi Toddjr, thanks for writing a proper comment. You are in the vast minority so far. ;)

On Steemit you can change the voting weight only when you reach 500 Steem Power. However, when you use Busy.org, Chain.BB, Utopian.io and D.Tube instead of Steemit (they all run on Steem and share the same content and you need your private posting key which you'll find in your wallet under permissions) you get the slider for your voting power right from the start. :)

You can of course self-upvote yourself. Many do that. However, you should consider doing that only when it is approriate like when you want to push your comment to the top because you have an important question or addition to the post.

Wow huge help! also I saw your inspiring video for Utopian, tremendous value addictively I might add.
So I encourage you to do more promoting about Utopian, simply because of the awareness of the power of Steem,it really helped me.
Thank You Again..
Toddjr.

Helping others is a secret sauce for success on Steemit!

I'll be the first to admit that I never considered the amount of thought you put into reviewing the comments to that level of detail when I'm going through my own posts and reviewing the comments. That was informative for someone like myself still learning the ropes a bit around here.

I am not analyzing each comment like I did in the video. Most of it comes intuitive and you can see very quickly when a person put effort into it - like you! So here is your well-deserved upvote for a good interaction!

I always try to comment if it is in relation with the topic and the content, although I sometimes wonder if I am doing it right :)
Being daily active now on Steemit, I try to find my own rhythm on the community. So yes, not a fan of bots, spamming and replying with "great content, please follow me!" without reading the content.
For now I feel I improve week by week... I hope :)

With comments like this you are doing a good job. Upvoted!

Thank you, interesting to see how an experienced steemian manages his upvotes.
I like that you reward genuine comments. I also like that you give constructive feedback to comments that you do not upvote.

I also enjoy the irony that a lot of people make generic comments to this video about not making such comments:D

Yeah, this has been the most entertaining thing I did in a while on Steemit. Because people behave so ironically. The cool thing is that we can all learn from this experience and become a tiny bit more repsonsible in our behaviour. The same goes for me as I learn to keep my calm and relax more when it comes to interaction. I had times when I was sad about getting tons of nonsense comments. Now I focus on the good and there luckily is plenty here.

Thanks for your comment!

Thanks for a thorough reply!
Yeah, rewarding genuine comments is a good way to reinforce good commenting. The carrot always beats the stick:)

I don't know about that. I'm not challenging any one with a stick to a fight if all i have is a carrot. You're crazy man.

How about two carrots?

That might work if you stabed them in the eyes and then made a snarky remark sbout how they are supposed to be good for thier vision.

Man, you are truly killing me today with your funny comments!

Lol! I would go for this one:
Sx2uxO9.jpg

When I joined steemit, I met with the group of people who were playing upvote for upvote and comment for comment, I too start doing it with them, but then I realize it's a not good way to get noticed or to get success on this platform, Then i met a person @itwithsm, he told me how to get noticed and he told me commenting is the best way for you to get noticed in this platform, I'm not talking about the spam comment.
Then I start to examine it and yes it works. first of all, you need to understand the post, what message the author of the post is trying to convey, Analyze and then do a valuable comment :)
Thanks For sharing your valuable knowledge with us :) it will greatly help minnow to get noticed :)

I think many of did this silly mistake in the beginning. Me too. ;)

yeah, it is good to accept your mistake :) and try to never do it :)

That user comment with the 45 instant upvotes - I got it as well on one of my videos. I didn't really understand what was going on. Like you said, probably some kind of bot network.

These people are worse than the "good post" people. ;)

great article! - I really like how you select which one upvote - I feel like you do in terms of people who vote for their own post while not voting for the post itself or a low quality vote ( 1%) -it so rude to go into someones post - upvote you own spammy comment and then the trifecta - asking you to follow and upvote them too... I've had people come into my page - not even vote and then solicit for other votes - it really makes me shake my head....

True although I think a 1% upvote is better than no upvote at all. I am happy for everything I can get. Imagine what this 1% upvote will be worth in retrospective in a year or ten years from now. ;)

oh yeah .. I'm always happy for every vote - in fact - I don't even bother to look at how heavy their vote is .. it's the ones who come into your blog and start soliciting people... and don't have the respect to leave a vote - once again - people trying to get something for nothing.

The cool thing is that everyone has to learn that Steem is about sharing and giving in order to receive. A great lesson to all of us!

verry good work !!Thank you, interesting to see how an experienced steemian manages his upvotes. and excellent post ..!

I hope it was helpful. Your reputation shows you have gotten a few flags before and I am sure you were able to learn from it!

Yes, it's true ! now i work a lot !! I want to say thank you very much for your comment and I would like to be like you in the future

Glad to see that you take the time to read and review all the comments :)

I do that in most cases. But sometimes I have very successful posts and then it becomes very difficult. ;)

Lol yeah stupid comments really irritates sometimes :D

Yes, particularly when you are flooded with them because people know me for being a regular comment upvoter.

Hello @flauwy
This is a great post and I think every newbies and even old steemians need to watch this video.
Commenting is great but when done the wrong way it can lead to a flag and this makes many get scared of commenting or pull out.

I believe if we all follow the right way to comment, we will definitely improve on the steemit blockchain with more earnings and followers.

Steemit can be a scary place if you have no clue what is going on. :D

Lol
Very scary place indeed
Knowledge is the power here, to succeed one need to get equipped on how things goes and are done here

You are right... bad etiquette should not be rewarded. We need to weed out the bad ones. I'm starting to flag comments that are basically spam with self upvotes that never vote the post. The guys with their bot networks voting their own comments are very troubling. Does it seem more prevalent on Utopian.io because I haven't noticed that on Steemit. I figure that crooked developers can do all kinds of crafty stuff.

There is light and darkness in everything. :)

good info. I did not know that one could push up the comments.
have wondered when I saw such "good work"comments who do not make sense most of the time. learn more today about how u spot a bot

Good! Keep an eye out for the fake and be sure to reward the sincere!

When I first came to Steemit I saw a post, I can't even remember what it was about, but I decided to make a comment that it was cool and I would have to check it out later. Mostly as a note to myself to come later and check it out. But the poster thought I was a bot and downvoted me and abused me. Never again did I make a comment without it being thoughtful and on topic.

Well, sorry for the bad experience right after joining here. But you learned from it and now you are a more valuable member of the community!

you explained the very basic thing of steemit in a great sense wonderful and very helpful for me specially :)

Why? I think you always do comments that are above average the least. That's why I pretty much always upvote them! ;)

phewww above the line dammm just saved hhhahah :D

Thank you very much! To newcomers like me, your video on how to Earn Upvotes And Replies For Appropriate Interaction is very helpful, I'll apply your points on the steemit post. @flauwy

The more people apply this to their Steemit life the better for all!

I agree with your viewpoint.

steemit is one of the biggest opportunities since the invention of the internet itself.... great times to be around

You wrote this comment withtin 7 seconds of publishing the post. This article is in fact about people like you and how bad they behave - in my personal opinion. Good day!

1819776_1.jpg

That was savage

You have written the first good comment on this post. Congratulations! ;)

He must have had the video playing very quickly.

He got an early version of Elon Musk's neural lace!

Maybe the guy is posting on here from the front seat of Musk's roadster....

As it passes Jupiter.

I doubt that as the transaction speed would be quite delayed.

@ flauwy..upvote and resteemd...

I wrote this post for people like you!


Lie Number 1:

stupid_01.jpg

Lie Number 2:

stupid_02.jpg

FB_IMG_1485402354494.jpg

You are like the death dealer of steemit today. I love it. Standing ovation sir .

The truth will always find its way to the open. ;)

Agree with you. Resteem.

With what of my points in particular do you agree?

I did not watch your video. But I agree with the title you wrote.

Which you clearly did NOT understand. ;)

LOL....now that is funny.

I think you missed my pink easter bunny comment further down this post...

@ flauwy This article is in fact about people like you and how bad they behave - in my personal opinion Writing comments is one of the best ways to earn Steem and find new followers on the Steem blockchain. However, many newcomers don't do it right and are ignored or even downvoted. Learn with me how I handle comments and become a much better community member.

Why do you recycle several of my own sentences without marking them as quotes? It appears that you as well have a very bizarre form of commenting. Your entire comment is just quaotes from puzzled together in a new form. That's so sad that you waste your time, my time and everyone's time with such a behaviour.

A lot of new users commenting without reading the postings, and commented without dealing with more severe even posting using automated comments, it's obvious they're just looking for upvote, instead of interacting with other users
Thanks for sharing @flauwy

A lot of new users commenting without reading the postings

You wrote this comment after 5 minutes of posting a 12 minute video. I would say you are busted. ;)

I only infer from your title,
And writing under his or her. ..

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

I am glad you liked my article about pink easter bunnies!

Now that's funny ... lol

I am glad you picked up on that! ;)

Really, wow that's great

Just like your comment. Absolutely FAB!

Congratulations @flauwy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I see so many who upvote themselves in the comment section yet do not upvote the post. What is interesting is rarely are the self upvoters of comments the ones leaving detailed, long, applicable comments. Those people usually post and let the community decide.

We really do need more attention given to this subject. I think you just inspired me to write a post about it....

Proper commenting and upvoting is really what separates those who are to be taken seriously from those who are not.

I like the way you explain the difference between good & bad comments, there is just so much SPAM out there now in the comments on posts. It makes us want to tear our hair out. I agree 100% about giving upvotes to comments that one chooses to respond to.

Hi Man!

You are absolutely right. Most people don't even read/watch your stuff. They just try to put nice comment, maximum 4 words to get upvote. I can be trully honest about myself and say that I have same thing in the first place when I have joined Steemit but then I realized that this it is a very, very bad way. You can get some bigger amount of upvote for 1 post and you will earn ones but you don't have followers for that. It is a short term way. People who will watch/read your content and support you as a creator/artist will upvote everyday and that will last forever and it is a real meaning and idea of Steemit. So I slapped myself and realized that before watched your video and now I know that this was a good decision :)

I've decided to record just for DTube and I'm actually on my way to upload first vlog ever in english (before I have uploaded my polish vlogs for YouTube).

It's good that someone with bigger audience record vlogs like this to open peoples mind.

Thanks!
All Best!

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

The key is to comment well. Not to just comment.