Pirated Content on Steemit. How's it handled?

in #steemit6 years ago

How do you handle someone taking content from a popular content creator on another site, let's just say YouTube, and posting it here on Steemit? I was looking for a vote down button but I guess there isn't one. The example I found the Steemit user has a pretty good bank. I would think that in a free market the aware consumer could suppress the cheater's ability to pirate content. Opinions?

Sort:  

The down vote is actually the flag button at the top right, see the little flag. Make sure that there is no credit given...then report it to @steemcleaners
https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/

Yes, as long as there is no credit given, Steemcleaners will handle it. They don't care if the source is Mickey Mouse, as long as the author is not claiming it as his own! The real problem is that citing a wrong source is also plagiarism, but plagiarism is not illegal. 99.9% of the time copyright is being infringed, which is illegal! We should be taking copyright infringement more seriously, as one of these days we are all going to suffer because of someone else's greed!

I just wrote a post about image theft on Steemit, and I have written a few in the 6 months since I have been on here. It is a sore point with me, as I am a stock photographer! You tube posts appear to be fair game. There is absolutely no policy about copyright infringement. It's up to the community. For that very reason, I will not Upvote any post that is illegally using an image or artwork!

Congratulations @fotsandphilms! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!