You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future of Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Self upvotes get me too. They are deemed acceptable, and I’ve adopted them outside of the 30 minute window myself in accordance with the general way things run. I’d like to see them addressed as I’ve seen one particular prominent YouTuber come in and begin to full weight upvote every interaction with his audience. And there are a lot. If you have a lot of cash, you can get a lot out of the system.

Sort:  

There's nothing wrong with voting for yourself. The issue is that we don't want to reward self-upvotes unless there is enough support verifying that vote. We don't want to reward people that do lazy one comments and then upvote themselves behind the scenes. We also don't want huge whales voting for themselves without a significant community to back them up as well.

So for prominent YouTubers, if they bring an audience, they should be rewarded, but if the community can not match their vote in magnitude, they shouldn't be rewarded. The same goes for their commenters as well.

Very much a case by case basis. I do see what you mean.