HEARTBREAK

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

download (6).jpg

With a bouquet of flower in my right hand,
a gold encrusted engagement ring in the left,
I did well to shrug off the weariness that's won me over from a stressful day at work,pleasantly stressful;
spent half of the day working and the other half thinking about our exhilarating experiences,
five years over and we still together,
perfect but not just perfect,
Okay was our nights.

images (3).jpg

I knew it was a night I had to stage a performance;
stage a drama without action,
a song without lyrics,
an unorthodox dance.
Driving through the streets of Opobo,
I shopped for the best ring and a bouquet of flower.
I didn't announce my intended visitation,
she loved surprises,
so I intended submerging her in a pool of surprises.

With royalty hanging on my shoulders,
pieces of doubts cast behind me,
a foreseeable future walking before me,
I dragged myself to her door and was met with the least of unexpected surprise.
"Uh! oh! argh! harder please...."
she moaned of painful pleasure.
I kicked the door and it went ajar.

What stood before me was a scene of shame and disappointment;
my girlfriend and my best friend lay unrepentantly naked in the bed,
with their heads hung low in shame.
For some minutes, I stood transfixed like the statue of liberty,
like a conquered territory in the heart of a desert,
the song without lyrics replayed in my head.
A hellish drama played over me as hot streams of sweat ran down my face incessantly.
The bouquet of flower fell off my shaky hand,
the engagement ring also.
I swallowed the heartbreaking moment and left with my heart beating faster than normal.

images (1).jpg

NB---he committed suicide the same night

original

Sort:  

And my heart is panting hard for him too... Getting to the end i practically exclaimed about how so good the twist is and more importantly how you held me spellbound to the very end !!!!! this is beautiful in various shades!!!!!

Thanks,i appreciate

Congratulations @franklin92! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!