You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Increase Your Reputation Score on Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi Transisto,
I agree to disagree. You are correct, it does mean anything on Steemit itself. It is not used when calculating the curation or the weigth of your comment.
But it is useful to get noticed. The human brain is a strange thing. I'm sure that lots of people on Steemit, while not even try to read a post from a Steemian with a reputation below 30. That's why it is hard to get noticed in the beginning. If your reputation is above 50 people are more tempting to read your post.
According to me people do use 3 criteria when deciding to read a post (excluding the one on their feed):

  1. The title of the post (people should think about their title, cause this is the first whan people notice)
  2. The value of the post (trying to get some curation)
  3. The reputation of the author (are they credible or not)
    So yes, reputation is worthless in term valuation, but no it is important to get noticed.
    A question to all readers from this reply: do you use the 3 criteria above or not. Be honest with yourself.
    Steem is of course the most valuable asset and people should indeed focus on this, but I do have the feeling that building up Steem is much easier with a higher rep.
    My 2 cents.
Sort:  

Thanks for adding your insight here, @fullcoverbetting. You make some good points as well for someone like me on my second active day on Steemit. It does seem a bit complex the way it works and slowly, but surely, I'm getting there. All the best

Welcome dear. Yes growth seems slow, but we will get there in due time through consistence and persistence. Have a great time here!
-@yowanetwork

Thanks for the welcome and encouragement, @yowanetwork It is greatly appreciated.

i feel the same way too, a bit overwhelming and complex but for sure i will stick with it for a longer term as i truly hate facebook LOL

Me too. Facebook should be called "fakebook" LOL

i agree with you bro we always avoid posts of low reputation

Sorry to ask, but why?
Like you receive some sorta help and some people got interested in your posts and opinions, maybe a lot of low reps (like me) really, but really have something interesting to say, to add and share, I think we all need the same opportunity. In the end you and others high reps, don't lose anything.
It's a win/win situation, right ? ;-)

Feel the same. Looking at the situation with positivity, a low rep can help you concentrate on having fun and creating content you support 100%.
Any upvote you will receive will be just a recognition of your effort, staying true to yourself.

Signed by
a low rep guy :)

I also sometimes skip over low rep posts or comments, and I'm not sure why. But if they are higher reputation, I will read them fully. Reputation seems to be a sub-conscious method of assigning an account its own value.

What would GaryVee say right now @mynlo?
Same thing he said about those metrics (likes and follows) people pay attention to on Instagram, though very important to have it shouldn't rob of your peace of mind.
It's a journey, enjoy it.

Thx for your honesty Jassi! I do think more people do this but they are just afraid to admit it.

well dang lol

I wonder if you awoid posts with low reputation how is it possible for new steemians to get higher reputation? Or is it the iTunes to be, the ones with high reputation only votes for others with high reputation? It makes me feel sad and helpless....

I am just joining the platform and really still all about learning the ropes at this point. Your reply has helped me in certain way. Thank you for the comment.

Welcome, yea sometimes it just takes time my friend

thank you fullcoverbetting. from what i've gathered, reputation here is like building rome - not happening in a day!

You can say that again, its like building legos with no instructions

those 3 points are my anchor, I have make then my daily practice and they are helping to climb gradually, I'm sure it would help anybody who desire to grow.

I agree these have helped me build quickly!

so am I, that's for the feedback

Thank you for sharing your good guide steemit. it's good for a beginner. However, I just want to enjoy this without a headache :D
Thanks :)

That's a very fair point. I back you on this one

I cannot agree more. I have seen posts of people with higher reputation earning more. Even just comments do. So to me reputation is everything to go by

I always check the title of post first. If the title is interesting I check reputation of author. If his reputation is under average then I skip the post. If it is okay then I open it and read.

After that I finally decide if he deserves my meaningless upvote or not :)

Slow and steady wins the race, you def have the right idea buddy!

Why do you skip the post based on rep?
For all tou know it is the next Orca in the ocean. Writing excellent posts!
Remember we all had to start there. Some of us are lucky that they know a dolphin or higher, who upvotes the posts which makes the rep go up fast!
But lots of us don’t have this privilege.
I don’t want to critize you, I’m just curious!

To make this clear I skip posts if the author has less than 20 rep. Usually there is a reason why someone got downvoted (plagiarism, spamming, copy-paste commenting and so on).

However if someone has reputation under 5, it actually makes me curious and I check his post and profile to see how he managed to get it so low :)

Okay, thx for clearing this out. I do understand that a rep of 20 is a little bit icky! You did not wrote what average was.
Guess we are on the same page then!

That's fair, it was not until recent that I looked at it that way.

Thank you for this response! I agree and it's super useful for me since I'm still a newbie and haven't had enough time to really dive in and learn more about this platform.... thank you :)

Makes perfect sense, thank you.