a Reply to @trevonjb on his rant-post titled: "My Biggest fear on steemit"

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Dear Angry man with an opinion,

I have been video-blogging since 2007 on youtube for free - over the years I must have spent almost $100,000 on equipment, maintenance and upgrades. At some point I gained enough subscribers to be a so called youtube-partner, so I do get a nice paycheck from them every month, but it is mostly pocket-change compared to the cost of operations.

I have also written a ton of songs as an indie-artist over the years, some funny material, some serious material - all of it distributed online for free since as far back as 1997 when Fasttracker II was a thing , and I did it because I really enjoy doing it.

Steemit gives me a chance to re-introduce some of my content to a new audience and who knows - money wise, maybe I actually break even at some point, and that would be a great experience, bring it on - but it has never been the important part of my creative life.

I blog and vlog about political incorrect stuff, religiously incorrect stuff - i disrupt a lot of common thinking and enjoy doing it so money or no money does not matter.

I have made a lot of money in my life working hard mowing lawns, shuffling snow, do grocery-shopping for old people for a few dollars and growing up being better at it, working with smart people and getting paid for it. I have made a lot of money investing in smart projects, living on noodles and rice while the value increased enough to become debt free from student-loans so I now can spend my days flipping coins on http://1broker.uk and making money every day... sorry BITCOIN every day, I don´t want there to be a misunderstanding.

So if your biggest fear is that a bunch of beggars will dominate the #steemit space who @ned, @dan or @dantheman, @smooth & @blocktrade work 24/7 to regulate by debating and #testing out super-advanced algorithms with input from the entire community to make this platform the best platform for all things #media, and later all things that can be built on top of it - then I think your fear is without reason.

You see, good content is good content - and good content is not something you simply create - great content creates itself through you, it is a form of expression - to be able to communicate wide and broad with the colors of your own words, your own melody and the pictures of your soul in poetry.

I joined #steem when I discovered that someone had stolen my original content, an article I had written that they had copied and pasted word for word instead of writing their own paragraph about the article, and then linked it to the real article on my site like gentlemen do. they where making dollars on my copyrighted copywriting, and that is why I decided to join #steemit myself in order to protect my intellectual property by posting it here myself under my own name to be able to talk with my own followers, fans, friends, enemies, haters, stalkers and trolls, or ignore them - because I don´t care - I don´t write for the audience, I write what the spirit in me type - or whatever I find funny, interesting or worthy of a big shoutout.

I am sure you agree with every word I have written to you, and I hope to see you start writing some real content yourself soon instead of a full page about steemit this and steemit that, Take some pictures, write some stories, sing a song, make a podcast, turn it into a youtube-video and monetize it the way you want - it is up to you if you make it or not.

In the end, I´ll add the Steemit-song again, and wish you a great day :)

Sincerely,
Fyrstikken


PS: Youtube wont let me make money on this song, because the melody is copyrighted... I have a lot of videos like that, but we can talk more about that specific another time ;)

Sort:  

A very poetic, true, and deep statement you made is very inspiring:

"good content is not something you simply create - great content creates itself through you, it is a form of expression - to be able to communicate wide and broad with the colors of your own words, your own melody and the pictures of your soul in poetry."

Thank you for stopping by that sentence. I was expecting an @intelliguy to muse at it. :)

I've had the exact same thoughts about this quite genius forum. Another though that entered my mind is the need of sources attatched to information based content. Me as a creative writer, writing only fiction, will probably have the luxury of not needing to add sources to my content. But it is also important as a reader to be open minded and critical to information here and do the research for themself.

The source, which is often opinion based, is that of the author who posts on steem. Readers should be critical (and do their own research) for anything they stumble upon, on the internet. That includes mainstream media products too. :)

Well yes, when it's opinionbased it get's a little clearer and easier than if one would let's say make up false news about Bitcoin. Hopefully the community will work together to downvote low quality content to fade away. Which certainly is a dream come true for a generation used to a neverending nonsense facebook-feed.

I didnt steal your content. I shared it with a link to the original. Im sorry. Happy to see you stilk contributing. Our arguments were entertaining and inspiring. Sorry if I offended you. Your shitcoins song is incredible. Couldnt find it on youtube when i searched yesterday though...

Keep on Steeming fellow Waves surfer

If you didn't do it, he would not be here so early!
I strongly advice we continue cross-posting(that is the right word not "stealing") good content over here!
As long as the original link is provided everything is ok in my opinion! I hate hypocrisy and "Political correct" fanatics...

hahaha, but it is true - sorry for using you as an example to teach the kids, but I did anonymize you :) lmao

Fyrstikken is a musical genius. Lol

It has already been quoted here, but it's worth a mention again; very well put :-)

You see, good content is good content - and good content is not something you simply create - great content creates itself through you, it is a form of expression - to be able to communicate wide and broad with the colors of your own words, your own melody and the pictures of your soul in poetry.

CG

thank you for that :)

Truer words are rarely spoken. Can't wait to write my first real post however I forgot my notebook charger at home and I am on the beach currently. Typing on the phone is not really my thing :D

In esence what I've been saying to people. I think we really need to getr a way for ppl to actually read post not just upvote them for "curation" rewards. I use quotes because it is not curation if you just upvote blindly, isn't it?!

That being said. Great post, my friend :)

Thank you, I spend time doing research and I really do appreciate when people actually read the entire thing and prove it by leaving a comment that creates room for debate, I love the comment-field.

Fucking nailed it

Do you think you could write a post on how you make money trading on https://1broker.com/?c=about_features? Trading is a skill I have not yet attempted to master.