You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emerging from behind the screen...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It was a really cool night. I knew most of the people there already and we just talked about stuff and I got to ask a lot of questions. We don’t put signs up or anything but we were a fairly large and conspicuous group with our user name tags on and all. There was a raffle with 1 ounce of silver for the prize and we had burgers and a beer or two. @mattclarke put a couple hundred bucks on the bar for drinks - Thanks Matt! Good night and looking forward to the next.

Sort:  

That's awesome! And very generous of Matt Clarke! I've been trying to build my own group by getting friends on here, but haven't succeeded very well. I don't get the issue. I've been doing the hard work of breaking ground. I'll have at least a $0.01 vote that I can give them on everything. That's a heck of a lot more than I had when I started. It's all good though. I'm not giving up. I'll keep bugging them until they get it to shut me up. Ha ha.

Who won the silver round?

Some people don’t have the ability to embrace new until everyone else does. I call them ‘sheeple’. I’ve recruited two, one who stopped after 1 post and another who is yet to call me to sit and get some basic tips. Still, the main thing is we’re here :). @mattclarke is a champ and is championing Adelaide. If he was in Game of Thrones he’d be Jon Snow! :)

I can’t recall who won the 999 which means it wasn’t me. :) It’s a good concept though huh?

Matt's a good dude. Not just because of what he's trying to do on steemit but in general. A great chap to hang out with. It's difficult to get people together due to their wish to stay anonymous I guess however there were 18 there last night and we were all just a group of people with steemit in common. Maybe you could start small with a couple and see how it goes. It will grow from there I'm sure. We were discussing a little concept we might put together which we think might be a cool thing for the greater steemit community to get behind. I won't say just what yet as it's a @mattclarke thing but I reckon it'll be cool. Anyway, it'll roll out over time I think. Good luck with your meet-up plans.

That idea has developed somewhat and I'm really excited about it.

Oh really? Well, I'm sure you will come up with something good. All the best with it.

@nerdfury won it.
I'm taking credit though. I gave him a 2017 steem silver round, and its his lucky coin now :)

You don't know how much headway you've made.
Perseverance is everything :)